Daily Archives: October 17, 2011

Beauty of Fall

Every fall I go up to Ohiopyle to support the local fire company in their annual find raiser. I am not that big of a fan of buckwheat pancakes or of pancakes really. But it is a nice drive up there and I know that without the money from this fund raiser this particular fire company could not survive. And this fund raiser has been going on for a rather long time and people come from all over to support it. Many of them drive up from the DC area just for the weekend!

For me, going up to Ohiopyle is all about the mountains and the trees. It is one of my favorite places. Normally over the last several years, the river has been really low due to a lack of rain. Not this year!

The Youghiogheny River is a white water kayaker’s and rafter’s dream. It offers up class 3 and 4 rapids. But when the river levels are up, some of the class 4 rapids become class 5 rapids. A class 5 rapid can kill. The photo in the link shows what the falls normally look like.

This year though it was an entirely different story. The Laurel Highlands of Pennsylvania have had quite a bit of rain over the last month or so. The river was running full bore and I loved it! I took a ton of photos and will be posting them as soon as I work my way through them. But here are a few.

This is the same waterfall in the link to Wikipedia

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized