Recipe Friday

Sheri, over at The Loopy Ewe, has been posting recipes every so often so I will give her and everyone a recipe that I have been playing with lately. I thought I had lost the website where I had originally found this recipe but after searching for about a half hour, I finally found it. Here is the link to the original recipe which is call “Peel ‘n’ Eat Mexican Shrimp” at the Global Gourmet site.

I am not known for following recipes. I love to tinker with them and change them. The original recipe has been morphed into a Mexican style shrimp scampi. And one major note, I happen to love cilantro so I will add it to anything I can. If you do not like cilantro, you can either leave it out or use flat leaf Italian parsley instead. Try both versions of the recipe and see which one you like. Both versions are easy and quick to make. It is excellent for a quick meal or a nice appetizer to share with friends over a beer or glass of wine.


Mexican Style Shrimp Scampi

1 pound of shrimp
3 to 4 limes
fresh cilantro to taste
3 to 5 cloves of fresh crushed garlic (to taste really)
several grinds of fresh black pepper
a healthy pinch of good sea salt
a quick pour of good olive oil

Preheat the oven to 350F. Juice the limes into a 9-inch-by-13-inch baking dish or a casserole dish that will hold the shrimp. Add the cilantro, garlic, black pepper, salt, and olive oil to the an. Add the shrimp and toss to coat well. Cover the pan with foil. Place in the oven and set the timer for 20 minutes. Toss the shrimp at the 10 minute mark and return to the oven for another 8 to 10 minutes. Add more fresh cilantro after taking the dish out of the oven. Serve over rice if you want to use it as a scampi dish. Serves 2 to 3.

Note: I will take the shells off the shrimp if I am using this as a scampi before cooking them. If you buy a few bags of shrimp on sale you can always have most of the ingredients on hand.

And here is a link to another recipe that I found for a Mexican shrimp recipe that looks interesting – Camarones Al Mojo De Ajo (Shrimp in Garlic Sauce)

And just for those of you who were not able to take part in the wonderful recipe swap that Amanda over at clothesknit hosted earlier this fall, I am including a one of the extra recipes that I send in along with my recipe cards. I really do love these cookies. If I remember correctly, I think I originally found this recipe in the Washington Post. And I buy my crystallized ginger at my local food co-op. I think I need to make some of these cookies this weekend…..

Double Ginger Crinkles

A dough that’s energized with a double dose of ginger in the form of the ground spice and chopped crystallized ginger creates spicy, bursting-with-flavor cookies.

2 cups plus 2 tablespoons bleached all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoons baking soda
2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons ground ginger
3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
2 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ground allspice
3/4 cup vegetable shortening
3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar
1 large egg
1/3 cup unsulphured molasses
1-1/4 teaspoons vanilla extract
2/3 cup packed chopped crystallized ginger
1-1/4 cups sugar blended with 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger and 1/8 teaspoon ground

In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, ground ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice. Set aside.

In a large bowl with an electric mixer on medium speed, cream the shortening for 2 minutes. Add the sugar in 2 additions, beating for 1 minute after each addition. Beat in the egg. Blend in the molasses and vanilla. Reduce the speed to low and add the flour mixture in 3 additions, beating just until the flour is incorporated after each addition. Stir in the crystallized ginger. The dough will be very soft. Cover tightly and refrigerate until firm enough to handle, 3 to 4 hours. (If necessary, transfer the dough to the freezer until firm, about 1 hour.)(IF it is really cold outside, I have been known to stick the mixing bowl in the snow with the top covered of course.)

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Line several baking sheets with parchment paper.

Form the dough into balls of about 1 tablespoon. Roll each ball in the ginger-sugar mixture and then place them 3 inches apart on the prepared baking sheets.

Bake the cookies for 12 to 13 minutes or until set. During baking the cookies will puff, then deflate and form crinkled surfaces. Cool on the baking sheets for 2 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. Store in an airtight tin. (About 3 dozen cookies)

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “Recipe Friday

  1. Mmmm… both those recipes look great! Sorry to make your contest such a short one — you just happened to pick a poem that I know pretty well. Enjoy the weekend! I’m planning to bake up a storm — maybe I’ll put the ginger cookies on the list, too.