All Hats

Do you ever get on a kick where you knit the same thing like 3 or 4 times in a row? Socks are not included in this kick since they are their own separate addiction. I do have a hat that I need to have finished by Thursday night because it is Christmas present for a baby.

Is it finished? Nope. 21 centimeters of st-st in the round will drive you crazy. But I am going to fudge the length and start my decreases for the top at 20 centimeters. One centimeter in a baby hat is not going to make that big of a difference.

But I did finish another hat pc180009.JPGthis weekend. I was in my LYS Saturday and I needed to buy another copy of a pattern that I know I own. But as usual, I can not find the pattern. So I had to buy another copy of the pattern. I have half a ball of Rowan Felted Tweed that I need to use up. (The first half of the ball is in a hat.)

pc180011.JPGAnd since I had hats on the mind, I decided that I needed to knit a hat in a big chunky yarn that wouldn’t take too long. Well, I kept looking at this nice and chunky yarn called Murano. It is one of those wonderful variegated yarns. This particular colorway has pinks and purples in it. And given the yardage in this yarn (240 meters if I am reading the label correctly), the price is reasonable. I knew that I could get two adult hats out of one skien.

I have one hat completed. The second hat is down to the final 4 rows of decreases and I think I may have enough yarn left over to make either a kid’s or small adult hat. I probably would have had enough to make a 3rd adult hat if I hadn’t made the 2 hats sized to fit a large adult head. See I have this friend who has a big head and she may end up with one of these hats.

I also spent most of yesterday cleaning. Yes, that dirty word – cleaning!!! But since the cleaning involved rearranging my living room and moving my scarves, mittens, and hats out of the basket where they were overflowing into something else, I was able to fondle yarn. Actually, I own one of the large Bocca Baskets from Lantern Moon and I had some odds and ends stored in it. It is now the hat, scarf, and mitten basket. And the basket that had previously held the mittens et all is now the basket holding my living room sock yarn stash. What you mean you don’t have a sock yarn stash in your living room??? I though everyone did.pc180013.JPG

The next room to tackle on the cleaning sweep is the studio/sewing room. That is a room that despite it’s small size if a black hole. It may have to wait until after Christmas though.

The other fun thing that I did this weekend is cook. I decided to roast a turkey breast yesterday just so I could have plenty of leftovers. Left over turkey on top on a salad is a perfect dinner because it means less time in the kitchen and more knitting time. I think I may have finally come up with the perfect recipe for roasting a turkey breast. And here it is –

Simple Roast Turkey Breast

Preheat the oven to 325F. In a small bowl, grind quite a bit of black pepper, a generous amount of sea salt (I used Celtic sea salt but that is my favorite sea salt), and a generous amount of dried granulated garlic. Set aside. Peel an entire head of garlic or several cloves, slicing several of the cloves into thin slices, and set aside.. In the bottom of a roasting pan, throw in some quartered, peeled onions, a whole thing of celery cut into 2 to 3 inch pieces, a big bag of baby carrots, and half of the garlic cloves. Gently loosen the skin on the turkey breast and with a small knife cut several slits into the turkey breast. Insert the garlic slices. Pour some of the salt mixture into your hand and rub directly onto the turkey breast at the same time. Season the underside of the turkey breast. Place the turkey breast into the roasting pan. Pour a generous amount of olive oil into your hand and rub it onto the turkey breast skin. Sprinkle the rest of the salt mixture on the oiled skin. Stick in the oven. After washing your hands, you should pick up your knitting for an hour.

After about an hour, melt a small amount of butter in a glass dish. Mix the melted butter with a generous pour of olive oil. Brush this onto the turkey breast and pour over the veggies. After washing your hands again, pick up your knitting again until the thingie pops out on the turkey breast which will vary depending on the size. But you should be able to get another 45 minutes or more of knitting time. Depending on whether or not you have teenagers at home or boys, you should be able to get 2 or 3 meals out of this. If you have teenagers or boys at home, well, I hope you get some food….

If you have potatoes on hand, I suppose you could throw them in at the start as well. But I didn’t have any potatoes on hand so I didn’t use any. And the amount of garlic that you decide to stick in the turkey depends on how much you like garlic. Sticking garlic into meat is a very common technique used in Cuban cooking. My abuela used to use a whole head of garlic on a small roast.

1 Comment

Filed under Projects, Recipes

One response to “All Hats

  1. Wow! You are in serious hat production mode. I am, too — I cast on for yet another hat tonight.

    I love these Murano hats. What pattern is it?