Favorite Songs

Does everyone have a favorite song to knit by? Or a favorite Christmas song? My favorite Christmas song is Snoopy’s Christmas (Snoopy vs The Red Baron) by the Royal Guardsmen. But the version in my iTunes play list is by the Clumsy Lovers. I also have Snoopy vs the Red Baron (60’s Mojo Mix) in my play ist. This is definitely not a Christmas version but it is still pretty good.As it stands right now, my Christmas play list in my iTunes is at 91 songs. The other songs on the list that I have rated at 5 stars are “I Believe in Father Christmas” by Greg Lake and “Gabriel’s Message” by Sting. And the Chipmunk song is always good to listen too. (And just so you don’t think I only listen to a few songs, there are currently 91 Christmas songs in my Christmas play list!)

The one thing that I love about “I Believe in Father Christmas” is that it written by Greg Lake in opposition to the commercialization of Christmas. Check this link out for more details.

I love Sting’s voice and he is one of my favorite singers. I just his voice in this song.

I also happen to love “Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)” by U2. Bono. Need I say more than just his name – Bono! Sexy and intelligent; what more could you want in a man? And yes, I have been listening to the band and have been a fan since “war” came out in 1982. A very long time.

I did a fire prevention/station tour Monday night and one of the kids reminded me of Alvin in that he never paid attention. And I do remember this particular little boy from both last year and this year teaching in the elementary schools. If he couldn’t be talking he was off wandering around. I made a bet with him that he could sit still and not raise his hand for 5 minutes. His mother was all for it. He didn’t even last 15 seconds before he had his hand up in the air. Sometimes working with kids can be entertaining.

And what brought on this line of though is that “Desert Rose” by Sting with Cheb Mami happened to pop on on my iTunes shuffle. I love that song. Actually I love the part at the beginning where Cheb Mami is singing the best. I will listen to almost any type of music and until this song I had never heard of rai music. I had listened to Arabic music before though. Because of the song “Dessert Rose,” I have become hooked on Cheb Mami’s music. Yes, I have very eclectic tastes in music. (My reading lists are just as varied.)

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Favorite Songs

  1. GuessMe

    Hi Mia
    I just wanted to post here and let you know that I am your KMKS pal. I’ve sent you several e-mails, but I am afraid you must not be getting them. I tried again tonight because I got a message from Bev and I didn’t want you to think I have deserted you.
    If you would, could you e-mail the answers to the KMKS questionnaire to my e-mail address?
    Thanks Pal!