One Jaywalker




Jaywalker

Originally uploaded by kayakknitter.

Okay, as promised, here is a photo of my Jaywalker sock. This is my first top down sock in years and it is not as hard as I remembered. I used to hate doing top down socks because of the gussets but I actually didn’t mind it. The yarn I am using is a merino/tencel blend hand-dyed by Yarn Ahoy.I am loving this yarn. I love the way the colors have been playing out and not really pooling but striping nicely instead. I will keep working on them until I have a new pair. And yes, I will be doing this pattern again.

Last night during class, I started writing down possible topics for my speeches. In my instructor class, we have to give 3 different speeches. The first one is 3 to 5 minutes; the second one is 5 to 7 minutes,; and the final one is 7 to 10 minutes. Due to problems in the past, we are not allowed to do our speeches on anything to do with the fire service. And yes, some of the men in the class are having fits about this rule. Some of them are also pretty nervous in the first place about having to stand up in front of veryone and speak. I am not one of them.

At first, I thought about talking about knitting but I thought about my audience and decided against it. So I had to think about what else I knew quite a bit about and could use the same topic for all 3 speeches. My choices were international non-governmental organizations, Latin American politics, or the War Between the States. (The War Between the States is known in the North as the Civil War, btw.)

Since my minor in college was American military history, I decided to go with the War Between the States. I wrote down several possible topics including the Raid on Harper’s Ferry, battles leading up to the Battle of Gettysburg, combat leadership during the war, or the Battle of Sharpsburg. I showed the list to my instructor and asked him to pick which one he would like to learn more about. He picked the Battle of Sharpsburg since he said that he knew nothing about this battle. I asked him if he was sure whether or not he knew anything at all about this battle. His answer was again that he knew nothing about it. I told him that the battle was also known as Battle of Antietam by the vast majority of Americans. That is when he knew something about it.

So I will be doing some detailed research over the next week on this battle and preparing my speeches. I think I am going to use some Power Point slides to help set the stage for this one. So if anyone has some suggestions, please let me know. I am open to suggestions with this speech. I used to do quite a bit of public speaking in high school and college but I am always looking for new twists to use. This class is all about teaching and the final speech is evaluated and graded for the second instructor class that I will be taking later in the spring.

I am going to be taking the rest of the afternoon off and going home to knit. I in the early stages of a cold and I need to rest to prevent it from turning into something worse like bronchitis. So I will sit on my couch in my pajamas and throw in a DVD or two and knit while I sip hot tea.

3 Comments

Filed under Socks

3 responses to “One Jaywalker

  1. I’m not good at speeches, so I don’t think I could help you. And, being Canadian, I don’t know anything about that third war you mentioned either. Love the jaywalker though…you’re doing great, and the colours are pretty.

  2. Oh no! I hope you feel better soon, Mia. Tea, knitting, and rest are usually the ticket.

    The Jaywalker looks great — the colorway has a lot of nice contrast.

  3. I hope you are feeling better. It seems like that cold is making the rounds. The Jaywalker looks great and it’s such a fun knit!

    My g-g-grandfather fought at Sharpsburg, in Co. B, First Reg’t Maryland Light Artillery. Family legend has it that he was wounded in the eye there, but it’s not recorded on the military record that he received when he was discharged. I find battle strategies to be rather dull and tend to check out during those types of lectures but perk right up when the human side of the story is introduced. Maybe you could focus on the effect of Sharpsburg on the local residents, especially since you live so close. Good luck with it.