Daily Archives: January 10, 2007

How Things Change

Okay, raise your hand if you remember the old tv show called Emergency. I will be nice and not require that it be from the first run instead of the repeats. I never saw it in as a first run but I also grew up with Armed Forces television. But I will say that this is the show that is probably why I became a fire fighter.

Since I was looking for a certain DVD Sunday and I was feeling a little bit better, I ventured out to the only decent place in town to buy DVDs – Best Buy. And after my visit Sunday, I know this much, I will be ordering my DVDs off the internet. I tend to like classic movies and tv shows. I was looking for a copy of the Guns of Navarone and there were very few classic war movies to be found.

But I was determined to find something new to watch so I ended up buying season 1 of Emergency. I remember the show from when I was little but I have never seen all of the episodes. I started watching it Sunday evening while I knit. It is funny to watch this show now as an EMT and a fire fighter. I still remember the first time I watched Back Draft after taking my fire classes.

So watching this show is actually really surprising. Because I like history, I actually am pretty familiar with the early days of EMS. And this show is actually fairly accurate. But it is funny to watch how somethings have changed and others have not.

On the fire side of the show, we still throw ladders although we have moved from wooden ladders to aluminum ladders. We still pull hoses and still have the pumper panels on the side of the engines. The big difference is that we have moved from open cabs to closed cabs. (Much warmer in the cooler weather and in wet weather.) You still see the white hats (chiefs) standing around telling the black helmets (fire fighters) what to do but somehow I don’t think that will ever change. The tools are still pretty much the same. And we still put the wet stuff on the red stuff.

On the EMS side of the show, it is amazing how far things have come. Johnny and Roy have their equipment in these big bulky boxes. Today’s modern EMS aide bags are small and easy to carry. You have pretty much every thing you need in the bag. We now longer haul out the big bottles of oxygen, we carry small bottles in our aide bags. We do not have to ask for permission to do certain treatments. (What you can do in the field without permission varies from state to state.) But the basics are still the same, we are out there to help address the problem, if possible, and rapidly transport the patient to the emergency room while administering basic medical aid.

And I am still working on my Pirate hat. I have to say that the pattern is very addicting. I am thinking of one in Lime and Violet provided I can find the right yarn. Or blue and white.

4 Comments

Filed under fire, Stranded