Hard to Put Down

I stayed up a bit last night to finish reading Barbara Delinsky‘s book Family Tree. First of all, I will admit to loving her books and I will often stay up quite late reading if a book is really good or has caught my interest. familytree.jpg

This is a book that is worthy of putting down your knitting and just reading. The basic premise of this novel is that a white couple (Dana and Hugh) has a baby who is born with obvious African-American features, including skin coloring. The husband blames the wife for this because he can trace his ancestry back to the Mayflower. The wife on the other hand has no clue as to who her father is. Therefore, the problem is from the wife’s side of the family. The story unfolds at a very nice pace and along the way, we learn about Dana’s past and the damage inflicted by long-held family secrets. Or more accurately, that the reasons some things are held secret by one generation really do not matter as much to the next generation. There is also a nice lesson in genetics and how people are treated in this country based on their skin color. (Although we deny that people are treated differently because of their skin color, it happens every day on all sides of the fence.)

Dana has no problems accepting her daughter as she is yet Hugh is more concerned with how his family and others will perceive their daughter. This book will make you, hopefully, stop and think about your family ancestry and how you would react in a similar situation.

As a knitter, what is nice is that Dana’s grandmother owns a yarn shop. And from the description of the shop, it is the place that all of us as knitters would love to have as our LYS. And I read on Barbara Delinsky’s blog the other day that Berroco is sponsoring her book tour for this book. And that all of the sweaters that she will be wearing are Berroco designs. (And yes, Barbara Delinsky is a knitter.) And Berroco has just released a book with 4 patterns based on patterns knit up in the novel. (read about it here.) I am in love with the throw and the bag.

I know from my own family history that there is always a possibility of a future generation being born with Asian features. My grandmother was one of 12 children of a Filipino mother and a white Spanish father. She was the only one out the the 12 children to be white and the rest all looked Filipino. (My great-aunt used to say that they always said that my grandmother was the milk man’s because of her skin coloring but she was treated no differently.) I look like my grandmother bases on the few photos of my grandmother that made it out of Cuba. I know that I would have no issues nor would my brother have any issues of any of his 3 children looked Filipino. Growing up in a multi-cultural environment in the military makes this a non-issue for us. (Although I am not sure about how my SIL would react but I am sure that she would accept it.) Do you really know your family history and where you came from? After reading this book, you might want to go back and start looking into your family history. There are all sorts of interesting stories that the older generations have that have never been written down. And once they are gone, so are the stories and your family history.

And now for some actual knitting content. I have knit several Calorimetry using other yarns without any problems. I think it may have something to do with the fact that I am a loose knitter and I was knitting them on a US 6. I still need to sew buttons on them before I photograph them. I am making them for a few of the female barristas at my local Starbucks. I have made two for one of the barristas who is from Russia. She grew watching her mother knit but she never learned. Since she is a little bit homesick, I want to help make her feel welcome here by giving her something that I know she will appreciate. (I am thinking about making her a third one so that she can sent it home to her mother.) I will be going through the button tin this weekend and sewing buttons on the ones that are already finished and taking photos of them plus some new yarn. But I decided to knit one up using some left over Manos (yes, Pris, this was supposed to be yours’.) And well, I ran out as I was binding off. Should I frog it or should I use another yarn to finish binding it off? I am open to suggestions. …p2080002.JPG

7 Comments

Filed under Projects

7 responses to “Hard to Put Down

  1. I’m no help wtih the Calorimetry, I think I’d go through my leftovers and see if I could find something. It’s so nice of you to make those for the Barristas!

    My dad was French Canadian, and there was definitely some Native American blood in there. You wouldn’t know it from me – I am as pale as can be, but my dad, sis and brother were/are all a rather nice mahogany color on the first day of summer. Me? Just red on first exposure to the sun. I’m going to have to drop over to Amazon and see if I can find that book – sounds like I would enjoy it.

  2. Janet

    I’ll have to read that book. Very interesting. One of my daughters has very asian looking eyes, similar to my brother. My grandfather was born somewhere in Russia and therefore I’ve always thought that farther back from him there may be some Chinese anscestry.

  3. Thanks for the book suggestion. I’ve added it to my hold request at my local library.

  4. Sounds like an interesting book. I stayed up late last night to finish The Thirteenth Tale, by Diane Satterfield. It was the homage to the Brontes, Wilkie Collins, and Jane Austen. The narrator is a bibliophile, and her description of how she relates to books at the beginning of the novel really drew me in. The beginning is the best part of the book, but I would still recommend it.

    The whole crew at Starbucks must just love you!

  5. I just bought the book last night at a weird coffee shop/bookstore I found on the way to the library to return my knitting books. It sounds like a great book.

    Ohhhhhh the colours for the Calorimetry is perfect. hmmmmmmmm Do you have scrap yarn in any of the colours to just do all the bind off in a different colour? I would certainly wear it with a different boarder yarn. The other colours just scream kitty kitty. 🙂 Sorry I have a big head 😦

  6. Genetics are interesting. I have a 2 yr. old that is 1/4 Hawaiian. She is darker than her 1/2 brothers. She also has red highlighs in her hair. Her 1/2 sister looks Sami. When the tot was conceived I really thought the Vikings would conquer the Polynesians. Just the opposite. Thank you for the book review.

  7. Have you seen the interview with the author about this book? I would think you would enjoy it very much.

    http://www.expandedbooks.com/searchbooks.php?searchPhrase=Family+Tree

    I enjoy your blog btw! 🙂