Pink for Valentine’s Day

I spent the weekend being really lazy and basically knitted all weekend. Although I did spend a bit of time in my sewing room/studio rearranging the stash and cleaning it up some. And no, there will not be any photos of the studio until it is cleaner. It is still a bit scary but you can see more of the floor.

But the upside of a lazy weekend is that I did manage to finish all of my laundry and get it put away. And I managed to finish a pair of socks. I had decided that I would not start a new pair of socks until I had another pair of socks off the needles. And I managed to finish a pair so I was able to cast on a new pair of socks last night. Plus I managed to get another pair of socks, okay one sock, ready to turn the heel. The only down side for me for doing so much knitting on such tiny needles is that my shoulder hurts today. But that could turn out to be handy tomorrow.

My new finished socks are still a bit damp so they posed for you on their blockers in the laundry room. The are my favorite pattern for hand-dyed yarns plain stockinette stitch with a picot bind off. I did make these nice and long on the leg length. The yarn is Fleece Artist sock in a pale pink that I bought a few years ago. I like this yarn and will have to get some more of it. And I still have yarn left over, maybe I will get motivated to knit some baby socks out of it. p2120001.JPG
p2120003.JPG

The weather forecasters are calling for snow/sleet/freezing rain/sleet aka the wintery mix to hit tonight and tomorrow. Depending on who you listen to, we may see up to 5 to 6 inches of snow when all is said and done. Forecasting weather around the DC metropolitan area is a bit tricky. There are mountains to the west and north and water to the east. The weather towards the water is completely different than it is near the mountains. And the weather forecasters try to do a forecast for about 50 to 60 miles around the DC area. So my method of seeing what the weather will be is to get up in the morning and look out the window. And I live near the mountains and about 50 miles north of DC, so this is the best method of checking the weather. (I have heard a local radio doing the weather and they say it is sunny at the station and I am less than a mile from the station and it is pouring rain over the entire area if that gives you a clue as to the weather forecasts around here.)

And if we get snow tomorrow, I will use my sore shoulder so I don’t have to shovel snow. If we get enough snow, some one will get out the snow blower and I am off the hook. And I am off the hook if it is a heavy wet snow. I plan on knitting all dya if it snows tomorrow.

5 Comments

Filed under Socks

5 responses to “Pink for Valentine’s Day

  1. Nice socks! I like the picot edge, and a very pretty color.

    Are you working on anything project spectrumy? (is that a word)

  2. Oh Mia! The socks are really pretty. What’s your sock mileage now? We’re supposed to get snow later tonight too. DH is in Milwaukee on business and he’s supposed to fly into town late afternoon – I hope the two don’t collide. I ordered that book you just reviewed from an Amazon.com Used Book Seller – I am eagerly awaiting it’s arrival.

  3. Don’t you love weekends like that? You don’t leave the house and you get so much accomplished!

  4. Research, such a beautiful thing. The socks are so pretty, I really love the colour and they look so cute on the blocker boards.

    Though, don’t you think you need to post a before and after shot of the studio? Ah the treasures that must be learking wanting to come out or forgotten about for months. (hehe ok probably years but I was being nice.)

  5. love the socks! that pink is really purrrrty :o)