Quilts & Yarn

For some reason, I have this strange addiction to sock yarn. Yesterday when I went to the post office, I had 3 packages waiting for me. One was from a swap and the other two were sock yarn. And I am waiting on 3 more packages that will have sock yarn in them to arrive. I need to knit faster I guess. But today’s post is mostly photos. One is a photo of the aftermath of the big fire from Monday. Take a close look at it and see if you see the irony in the photo. The rest are photos of some of my quilts with the new sock yarn on them. MJ, these photos are for you. I will try and get some better shoots over the week when I have natural daylight. The yarn is either Fleece Artist from my favorite enabler or Zen Garden.

p2200013.JPG

p2200004.JPGp2200006.JPGp2200011.JPGp2200015.JPGp2200022.JPGp2200025.JPG

The last photo is my sock for Bloomin’ Feet. Before I go much further I would like to know if anyone likes the way the yarn is pooling? I am kind of like it yet I don’t like it. Opinions wanted!!!!!

And please let me know if you catch the irony in the first photo. I also just wrote a rather snarky email to my local newspaper about double checking their facts. They are trying to clarify something about the big fire and what the different alarms mean and actually made it worse. This is a story that will appear in tomorrow’s paper. I wonder what sort of response I will get back. Edited – I just checked their website and the story has been pulled off the website. I hope that they are re-writing it after making a few phone calls and double checking their facts. I was polite and gave them contact names and phone numbers.

11 Comments

Filed under Bloomin' Feet, fire, Socks

11 responses to “Quilts & Yarn

  1. Mmmmm… toasty!

    I love your quilting/yarn goodness… what colorway is that Fleece Artist on the top right? It looks like one I just got from Sheri the Renaissance colorway.

    Very pretty.

  2. What’s so strange about a sock yarn addiction?!?

  3. MJ

    He he, toasty. I like.

    I like the quilt under the Zen Garden sock yarn. I’m so in the mood for patchwork now. Those are beautiful, Mia. So now you have to knit all the yarn to match the quilts, right? 🙂

  4. Toasty, indeed. How apt.

    What a great bunch of sock yarns to knit, and what beautiful quilts! I especially like the playfulness and bright colors of middle quilt of the bottom row.

  5. Emy

    Mmm…toasty. LOL!

    Also, mmm…sock yarn. Always good.

    And I like the way the yarn is pooling. I think that the whole pooling “issue” is silly – let it do what it does, don’t fight it. There is infinite variety in life, and there should be infinite variety in socks. *nod*

  6. I caught the toasty too – that is ironic.

    I think there are two ways of looking at the yarn pooling issue on that pattern. One is that yarn colors do that and that is part of the intrigue and fun of those kind of yarns. But the other side of that issue would be that in a pattern (meaning the texturing of stitches) the texturing isn’t going to show that well. Generally I don’t mix variegated/self-striping with any kind of dimensional patterning.

    Bottom line: It depends what you like. 🙂 It sure is pretty yarn though!

  7. i generally don’t mind pooling as long as the pattern is still visible. i can’t tell from your picture but then again i’m half blind and need to see the eye doc something awful. i’ll include this in tomorrow’s update and see if i can’t encourage some of the other participants (maybe even the recipient) to come give you their two cents!

    all of your new yarn is drool worthy!

  8. Personally, I like the way it’s pooling. I’d knit a little while longer and see if it’s still bothering you.

  9. I saw two interesting things in the fire photo – “Toasty” and at the bottom on the red truck, “Construction Trade Services”…seems to me it ought to read “Destruction” on this date. 😉

  10. Pretty photos, amazing how sock yarn and quilts couple up nicely. Well, not soo surprising. The toasty shot is also a good one.
    But to your BF pooling sock concerns. I don’t mind pooling socks if the pooling does not interfere too much with a pattern. AND – if the pooling is somehow all over. You know, not crazy pooling in the foot and neat stripes in the leg for example. So it is hard to give you an advice. I would probably knit till I turn into the leg and decide then. Bah.. that wasn’t helpful, I guess. Sorry.