Not as Scary As I Thought

Okay, the sock yarn inventory is done. I placed every sock yarn that I own in the database including sock yarns that are intended for gifts and on the needles. And the grand total is 133 skeins. I figured that I needed to keep track of what is being given away so that I do not drive myself nuts wondering what happened to a particular yarn. My memory is really good. (I can read something once and remember it pretty much word for word.) So if you figure that probably about 15 or so of the skeins are marked for giving away and some of the yarn is on the needles, it really it isn’t as bad as it could be.

Here are the fields that I have in the database – manufacturer, color name, variegated, fiber, super wash. hand dyed, color number, dye lot, yardage, meters, weight, colors, source, on needles, knitted, given away, and notes. Since this is only for sock yarn right now, I didn’t put in a gauge field but I will go back and add one. I should probably add price as a field as well for anything new. I will try and tinker with it a bit more and will share it with anyone who wants to try it. Just give me a few weeks to clean it up some more. And if you have any additional fields you think should be in there let me know.

I am now entering the patterns and books into a database and that should be the scariest part. Because I am pretty sure that I will find duplicates of patterns and magazines. Plus I have quite a few magazines.

Now as to the weekend. I spent Saturday morning running errands and checking out the furniture at Goodwill. I didn’t find anything that would be appropriate to the re-organization of the sewing room. I also went yarn shopping. Okay, all I picked up was the new spring Rowan and a pattern. But the LYS was right down the block from Goodwill. But I also picked up a lead on a place out int he country where I might be able to find something to use. There is a farm that is also a second hand furniture store that I completely forgot about in a tiny little hamlet out in the western part of the county. Next weekend is packed with a birthday party at the fire house and class so I will have to wait for the following weekend to head out there. (I do fire prevention at birthday parties and I either go to the party or parents can have the party at the station. The parents have to bring everything but they seem to like it. But the donation they give us is still less than it would cost them at Chuckie Cheese plus it is tax deductible. It just eats up about 3 hours for me though but the kids love it.)

I spent Sunday afternoon at a luncheon at a friend’s house. There were two 3 year olds there (hers and some one else’s.) My friend’s DH has two snakes and he brought them down for the kids. I forgot to take a photo of the baby ball python but this is the other one. (I forgot what type this one is though.) Snakes do not bother me since they were a common occurrence in the jungles of Panama. My friend’s house is right down the street from a Cuban restaurant and her husband and I walked down there to bring back cafe con leche for everyone. Sunday was the owner’s birthday so every female who came in had to dance salsa with him. That was fun. This particular restaurant is my father’s favorite and the owner is Cuban and his wife Panamanian. I wonder if Alfredo will be having salsa on a regular basis now. It was fun sitting down there and listening the music and hearing Spanish and English being spoken at the same time. It was almost like being at my abuela’s house.

p3040008.JPGp3040010.JPG

And just for fun, here is cute shot of Mimi I took the other day. You can tell what she thinks of having her photo taken. My brother’s question was where are her horns. He swears she is a devil cat since she doesn’t like him. She will hiss at him and swat him if he gets to close. But come to think of it, our old cat probably didn’t like him either but she just went about it in other ways. She used to sleep on his head and quite often her paws would end up over his nose or mouth. My answer is that Siamese cats are just very smart.

p3020003.JPG

2 Comments

Filed under Socks

2 responses to “Not as Scary As I Thought

  1. I put all my yarn into a database once. It took me two weekends. One for regular yarn, one for sock yarn. It was a might, shall we say, scary? I come from a long lived line of women but I would have needed a bit more time, maybe another 100 years! So… I spent the last two months figuring out what I truly *Loved* to knit and to knit with. I have culled about half the yarn out, some to give away, some to sell and now I’ve got a stash that I want to knit every single thing every time I go into it. Enh, works for me.

  2. I guess one should read before clicking on scary pictures of snakes.