Proceed with Caution

I woke up to about 7 inches of snow on Saturday. Rather than shovel the front side walk first thing, I walked up to the post office instead. Priorities you see. I was expecting a package. Ms Kitty of Knit Buddies had told me that she had mailed me a package and since it did show up Friday that meant it would show up Saturday. So going to the post office had a higher priority than shoveling the front sidewalk.

And sure enough, the box was waiting for me. Of course, I was a little bit leery of opening the box though. See, I was warned that a certain individual in the Knit Buddies household had put something in the box for me and it was on top. Actually, he had taken stuff out of the box to put this surprise in the box. And P did not find out what he had done until after she got back from mailing it. And if you do not understand M, let me remind you that is that this is the person who sent me chocolate cockroaches!!!

So I did put off opening the box for a few hours while I shoveled the front sidewalk and cleaned up the driveway edges. (I do have someone who plows the driveways and parking lot but I still have to do some clean up.) I also managed to move my truck from beside the building and clean most of the snow off it.

Than I opened the box. Very carefully mind you. I would not have been surprised if he had managed to rig it so something would come springing out of the box. But he was returning a favor. See at Christmas, I had sent him a reindeer that made its own jelly bean droppings. So he sent me a chicken with gum droppings. My nephew hasn’t seen this yet which is the only reason that I still have it. Isn’t it cute? p3170002.JPG

And yes, it was right on top of the box. What else was in the box, goodies from China for the most part. There was candy, which I have not tried yet. There was a nice little tea pot and a tea infuser. Some yarntini yarn. Okay that isn’t from China but do you have any clue how hard it is to get hold of? A cute little pink Peeps stuffed rabbit. And of course, some tea. And not just any tea, but chrysanthemum tea. I haven’t had the chance to drink any yet but it is one of the teas that I have been wanting to try.p3190003.JPG

And yes there was knitting going on. It did snow after all and I do have a cold so that meant I could snuggle down under a quilt on the couch and watch a DVD and knit. The movie was terrible. But the knitting went along fine. More on the knitting tomorrow. Hopefully I can can catch the socks before they make their break over the snow bank…..p3190005.JPG

3 Comments

Filed under Bloomin' Feet, Misc, Socks

3 responses to “Proceed with Caution

  1. Wouldn’t it be nice if you had snow as a backdrop more often to take photos. The lighting always is so nice for knitting. 🙂

    Hope you enjoy your gifts, I will put the other things in the mail the next time I am there. Since M is oh so helpful sometimes.

  2. I haven’t had the heart to watch Alexander yet. It looks just awful. At least you got some knitting done!

    I watched a terrible movie over the weekend while knitting, too — Down with Love.

  3. hehehe… I’d seen pooping cats and sheep, but no chickens yet 🙂 Too funny!!!
    Socks are looking good !!
    Cheers Eva