First Saturday

The merchants of downtown historic Frederick like to use all sorts of methods to draw people downtown. There is Gallery Walk on the first Saturday of every month. (There are other events as well.) I went downtown Saturday for April’s First Saturday since the Easter Bunny was supposed to be making an appearance.

p4070005.jpgBut first things first. I had to stop at the post office. And the loot, um, let me change that to the mail was good. I received a package from Madame clothesknit that was spectacular. She sent me hand spun sock yarn!!!!! Yes, you read right, hand spun sock yarn. And not just any sock yarn mind you but yarn that came from spinning fiber that Scout dyed. The colors are gorgeous. They are pinks and purples and the yarn is plied so the colors will be great when I knit a pair of socks from it. I LOVE IT!!!!!!! p4070008.jpg

She also sent me a Go Knit pouch in bright pink. Inside the pouch was a bar of chocolate, some lotion for my tired hands, and a small package of Sniffs. I had to open the package right there in the post office. And well, the chocolate didn’t leave the post office. I was nice and left it with the wonderful ladies there. (It paid off because today, they made sure I had plenty of packages as well.) I do share. (I promise to take a better photo of the yarn tonight. I think I can stop fondling it for a few minutes to take a better photo.)

From there, I went on the one of my LYSs. I stayed there for quite awhile to knit. Saturday was a bit windy and cold. While I was there, I was able to get a good shot of my scarf for ISE4. The colors are wonderful and I am loving the yarn. And I am knitting the scarf on some wonderful needles that Kitty Kitty sent me for Easter. They are glass needles and I love the point because it is nice and sharp for lace. p4070011.jpg

Afterwards, I stopped by the other LYS and went walking. The wind wasn’t so bad until I hit the creek walk. But what do you expect when the wind had a nice long corridor to tunnel through? But I did stop by the local Ben & Jerry’s since my next door neighbor owns it. And I am happy to report that he did have something there to offer that was non-dairy based. I will be going back once the weather warms up. (And the Japanese restaurant opens up next to his store.)

Along the sidewalks, there were different tables set up by the county library featuring different authors. My favorite was Edgar Allen Poe. So here are some photos of the walk Saturday. (I really like walking along the creek and through down town Frederick because there is always something to see.) (And the gate is next to a store called Two Paws Up.)

p4070027.jpgp4070029.jpgp4070021.jpgp4070044.jpgp4070035.jpgp4070048.jpgp4070050.jpgp4070058.jpgp4070066.jpg

2 Comments

Filed under Misc, Project Spectrum, Socks

2 responses to “First Saturday

  1. I really am glad you like the yarn! When you left it all up to me I started to get just a wee bit panicky :o) Didn’t Scout do a great dye job?! I recently bought a few Go Knit pouches and love them so it seems fitting that you should have one as well in a color I thought you’d like. BTW, we’ve (me and Scout) dubbed that colorway Cherry Mash so have a mashin’ good time when you decide to knit with it!

  2. What a fabulous package! Beautiful yarn. I love how the ISE scarf is knitting up. It’s going to be gorgeous. Now I’m going to have to check out those glass needles.