Maryland Sheep and Wool & Contest

Okay, next weekend is Maryland Sheep and Wool. And yes, I am going. It would be stupid not to since I said I had an important conference that weekend when some one wanted to schedule class that weekend. Fiber bets class any day.

And yes there will be a blogger meet up. Gryphon of the Sanguine Gryphon is planning it. I am trying to help as much as I can. The meet up will be both Saturday and Sunday at 1 pm on the grass or green next to the Central Pavilion where the music and stage will be. I am going to try and post a few signs up Saturday morning. I hope to see everyone there.

There is a button that has been made by Kitty Kitty for the meet up. Please feel free to post it on your blog but make sure that you save the button on your server.

blogger_gathering.jpg

Now in honor of my ever expanding sock stash, I am going to have a contest. The contest if for those who will not be able to be there. There are two people who are automatically disqualified and they know who they are since they will be with me. Yes, Priscilla, that does mean you. No unfair advantages.

The contest will be to guess how many skeins of sock yarn I end up buying. Notice that I say sock yarn not lace yarn. That is a whole different species of yarn. There will be at least two prizes. Who ever guess closest will win some sock yarn from my stash. I get to pick the yarn so that means no Sweet Georgia or STR. Sorry but that is sacred yarn. If there is more than two people guessing close, I can dig into the stash and come up with another skein or two. I will be buying some sock yarn for other people so they will not count towards what is going into my stash. The ladies of Knit Buddies will help to keep track of what is mine and what I am buying for others. And yarn that is given to me doesn’t count either. I have to put this in because I know that some one said she is bringing me yarn. The contest will close Sunday evening on May 6.

18 Comments

Filed under Misc

18 responses to “Maryland Sheep and Wool & Contest

  1. Did I mention I was changing my name….. Matilda maybe or Genevieve…

  2. Emy

    I don’t know if I can count that high! 😉

  3. moraie

    I’ll guess 12 skeins. This is based on the idea that there will be ~4 skeins that each make 1 pair of socks and 8 that will make 1 pair of socks of two skeins and that your max is around $200.00

  4. Ahh – I so wish that I was disqualified due to being there with you… maybe someday… but, in lieu of that I will guess …….. I’ll guess what I might do if I was there with you… and that would be 15 skeins of sock yarn (one for every month, plus a couple extra since some sock yarns require two skeins) grin.
    thanks for the fun!

  5. Have a GREAT time next weekend. Can’t wait to hear all about it!

  6. I’m going to say 16 skeins hehehe. 16 being my lucky number 🙂

    Cheers Eva

  7. This is tricky, since it will depend on skein sizes. I think you’ll buy enough for 8 pairs of socks, which could be anywhere between 8 and 16 skeins depending on the yardage. I’ll go halfway and say 12 skeins.

  8. Oops — 12 has already been guessed. I’m changing to 10. 🙂

  9. Jen

    I definitely won’t be there, living in Wisconsin and all. But I digress. I guess 9 skeins. 🙂 I know, an odd number, but i’m a little odd so there.

  10. I am saying 13 because that is a lucky number
    thank you for having this ..its fun .

    good luck hugs kat

  11. Hmmm – where do I go in between all this? I am going to say 8 skeins of sock yarn? If I guess for laceweight do I get extra points?

  12. I’ll be there, so maybe I’ll see you at the meet-up!

  13. Hmmm… very interesting indeed.

    I say you’ll buy 5 skeins that each make one pair and 6 that will take 2 skeins per pair. The is a total of 11 skeins of yarn or 8 potential socks.

    Have fun! Show us all your goodies when you get back

  14. Wow, I hope you have loads of fun!

    I’m going to guess on the low side and say 8. Buy a lot of laceweight!

  15. I’m going with a restrained five skeins.

  16. Jen

    my guess is 14.

  17. beth and louis

    hi! well you were up to 6 when we saw you (we think?) so we are guessing-17 – cause it was only 10am~~~
    nice to meet you – we’ll take the tess sock yarn you had in line when we win! ha~
    take care – beth and louis.

  18. Nicole

    I’m going to guess 21.