Rain Rain Rain

I failed to take pictures last night. But we did get rain. I went out for a walk and got home right before 8 pm. I went up to the attic to close the attic windows because I knew that it was going to rain over night. I had just gotten down the attic steps and was closing the door when I heard the rain start. I have a slate roof, with a slightly sloped metal roof on the tip top of the roof and wide metal half round gutters. So when it rains, I get to hear it. It is a wonderful sound. I had closed the windows up there just in time. And once the rain started, it kept coming. I was knitting and watching a present on the DVD when I thought I saw the sky light up. Yep, we have had our first thunderstorm of the season. (I am easy to entertain apparently.)

p4260006.jpgp4260004.jpgp4260007.jpg

I went down the back stairs and took some photos of the new river that was the driveway as the rain came down. I did make a video of it but I have to figure out how to upload it first. There really isn’t much too see but the sound is great.

So I have plenty of photos to take tomorrow or Sunday of all of the yarn-y goodness that I have received in the mail in the past few days. Among the items that I have received in the past few days are my Bloomin Feet socks. Thank you Jennifer!!!!! A nice little package from Eva. i have been assured that the candy and cookies were great. I am posting those pictures to prove that I did give the candy to the post office. 😉 I have also received my April STR kit and my Scout’s Swag package. Can I say that I love both yarns and the colors in both?

p4250001.jpgp4250002.jpg

And I also received a package full of Pocky and a little something special from Kitty Kitty yesterday. This despite the fact that we will be seeing each other next weekend. And go cheer on Meow Girl in their personal 52 pairs contest. MG needs the cheering section. The something special that Kitty Kitty sent me was some Tivoed episodes of the Knitty Gritty. I have never seen it not just because I do not have cable but because the cable company in this area does not carry it. I did watch the Harlot and Scout last night. My parents just got a dish; I wonder if they can get it…..

And an update on my hair. After living with my hair cut for the past several days, I decided not to go back to the person who cut it last. Let’s just say that cutting curly hair is an art and she didn’t meet the qualifications for the art guild. I went to a friend who does work on curly hair. Yeah, I know, I should have gone to him in the first place. He colored it this morning and attempted to fix it. Some of it just has to grow out but it will grow out looking good. The curls are ten times better and my hair feels better. And the nice part was that he didn’t charge me for the cut. Plus he didn’t push product on me. He just reminded me to condition it before washing it. Yes, condition it before even thinking about shampoo. Some decent photos of it will be taken next week I am sure but here is a photo to show off the new color and curls.

p4270009.jpg

5 Comments

Filed under Bloomin' Feet, eye candy, Misc, Swaps

5 responses to “Rain Rain Rain

  1. I get HGTV, so all I get to see of Knitty Gritty is old episodes at 6am. Maybe they’ll air the Harlot and Scout eps next year!

    Sorry you’re still going through hair woe.

  2. I love a good thunderstorm, too! Perfect excuse for knitting reading, and cat snuggling. Too bad one of my cats is terrified of thunder and hides under the bed.

    It sounds like you’ve had some awesome packages at the post office. I’m glad the books arrived OK.

    BTW, condition before shampooing? I’ve never heard of that trick before, but then again I have straight hair.

  3. I love rain and thunderstorms!

    I think the color looks great. Do you like it?

  4. Looks like the postal people (hehehe) like the cookies 🙂 Let me know if they want more 🙂

    Cheers Eva

  5. Hi! I’m glad the Bloomin’ Socks package arrived safely. Do the socks fit well? That always causes me a bit of stress.

    Enjoy the festival!