Daily Archives: May 6, 2007

Quick MD&W Review

Okay, I am tired and more wind burnt than sunburnt after two days of the festival. The real review will come after I have a chance to down load the pictures, plant my new flowers, and get some sleep. I have gotten up at 4:30 yesterday and today. There was no need to get up at 4:30 this morning since the show is always less crowded on Sundays compared to Saturdays. And it is only 30 miles from my front door to the fair grounds and that means about 30 minutes.

The contest is over. I am putting the names in the hat and will draw several prizes out tonight. The grand total of sock yarn skeins that I bought for myself was 5. Yes, only 5. And only one skein of Socks That Rock but it was a color that they do not produce anymore. I was looking at some today when a friend called me to ask a question about something. When she realized where I was, she wanted to know when I was going to knit her a pair of socks. So I had to buy a skein of sock yarn in the color that she liked to kit her a pair. They will be her Christmas present. So that skein is not one of the five skeins that are mine since it not staying in the stash and may be started soon.

I did meet Teri from the Knitting Libran first thing yesterday morning. We did a little bit of sock yarn shopping together. Actually, I bought four skeins of the sock yarn while I was with her. Than I met up with Priscilla and Lilly of Knit Buddies. Priscilla had her husband with her and he was super sweet and held our place in a line or two. We also met up later with Andrea who has a blog but I don’t have the link yet.
The five of us went out to dinner together as well.

Today, I went was down there early again. I bought more plants which I need to get in the ground in the next hour. Today was about lace yarn and roving. See yesterday I finally learned to draft. So I was told to buy fiber that would draft easily today. And of course, a spindle accidentally followed me home. I met up with Gryphon at a dyeing lecture and we sat together with a few other bloggers after the class..Than more time spent looking at fiber and spindles. I did buy a book about spinning and a DVD. But like I said more about that in the next day or so. And maybe some photos of my hand spun. (I will be taking a class on spinning soon so I can spin my own sock yarn, just what I need.)

And Kermit did go and visit at MDS&W. Photos to follow.

3 Comments

Filed under Misc, Socks