Recipes for the Hot Weather

Here in the mid-Atlantic it has been super hot the past few days. It has been over 80 degrees by 9 am if that gives you a clue. So I have found myself eating salads and thinking of ways to not use the oven. And there was a recipe in the May/June issue of Vegetarian Times that had caught my eye. So I decided to try it.

The recipe the way it is written allows for some variation. And I changed it of course. The recipe is called Couscous with Asparagus, Snow Peas, and Radishes. I first made it exactly the way it was written. And it wasn’t that bad. I made it last night but changed it of course. This time I still kept the asparagus but I added fresh peas, and scallions. I blanched the asparagus and cooked the peas the night before since I could do them ahead of time. I actually heated up the broth in the microwave instead of the stove top. I also used a tri-color couscous that I had picked up in the co-op. I like the color it provides. And the best part is that it tastes really good cold or at room temperature.

p6280009.jpg

I also decided last night to turn the oven and roast some garlic and beets. I had found a recipe on the Washington Post website for a heart healthy version of a Caesar dressing. It sounded good so I was willing to try it. So I roasted the garlic last night and made the dressing at lunchtime today. I was having a salad for lunch so I tried the dressing out right away. My only change was to add a little bit more buttermilk because it was a little on the thick side with the original amount.

So here it the recipe for the dressing since I can not seem to find it on the Post website now.

Roasted Garlic Dressing

Creamy, thick and slightly sweet, this quick dressing would be a worthy, more healthful stand-in for a traditional Caesar salad dressing. It can be refrigerated for up to 2 days.
To roast garlic: Slice the top off 1 head of garlic so that the tops of the cloves inside are exposed. Lightly drizzle with olive oil and wrap tightly in aluminum foil. Bake in a preheated 425-degree oven for about 45 minutes or until the garlic has softened and browned. Set aside until cool enough to handle, then squeeze the softened garlic cloves out of their skins and discard their stem ends. Adapted from “The Vegetarian Cook’s Bible,” by Pat Crocker (Firefly, 2007).

1/4 cup low-fat buttermilk
1 head roasted garlic
1 tablespoon rice vinegar
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 to ½ teaspoon cayenne pepper or smoked paprika

Whisk together the buttermilk, roasted garlic (preferably still warm), vinegar and salt in a small bowl. Add the cayenne pepper or smoked paprika 1/4 teaspoon at a time, tasting after each addition. Refrigerate in an airtight container until ready to use; shake well before serving. Makes ½ cup

p6280007.jpg

And yes, there is knitting still going on but I haven’t taken any photos of it lately.But I did take photos from yesterday’s farmer’s market though.

p6270001.jpgp6270003.jpgp6270005.jpg

3 Comments

Filed under Recipes

3 responses to “Recipes for the Hot Weather

  1. I haven’t been sleeping so I went out in the middle of the night to move the car for street cleaning at 4:30 a.m. or so. It was gross out even then — probably 78 degrees! Yuck! I’ll have to try the couscous recipe. It sounds yummy.

  2. That blueberry is amazing! Too bad I can’t eat garlic. I kind of like the flavor, but it does not like me. The couscous sounds delicious too.

  3. Good lord that’s a big blueberry! Of course, what really matters is the taste. Did it taste totally yummy and delicious?