No Blackberry Stains

I had a comment from some one wondering if my stash had blackberry stains. The answer is no. I wash my hands before fondling the stash. And the total freezer count for the blackberries right now is 22 quarts in my freezer. My neighbor has 70 quarts in his freezer. My count would be higher but I do give away fresh blackberries to friends. So my count would be higher. I picked blackberries Saturday morning and will be picking tomorrow morning. Yesterday was blueberry day. I only picked about 7 pounds of blueberries. When I have to pay to pick, I seem to pick less.

p7160121.jpgp7160119.jpgp7150005.jpg (P, here are the blueberry fields for you. See no chiggers!)

On to knitting. I have finally started working on photographing my stash for Ravelry. This is going to be a project that will take awhile. So if you see photos over on my Flickr account, that is what is going on.

Saturday was the Carroll County Sit and Knit group meeting. I like it when we meet in Taneytown. We have the back room of the Irish Moon to ourselves. And Rhonda, the owner, is fantastic to us. We get to sit back there and knit as long as we want. And the food there is fantastic. I ordered a shrimp salad sandwich Saturday and the amount of shrimp salad on the sandwich was enough for two sandwiches. (Yes, I broke down and ate a little bit of seafood but the world will not end. I do on occasion eat a little bit of chicken or seafood.)

Stephanie from Who Needs Gauge joined us for the first time. She found out about us from Ravelry. She brought her mittens that she is knitting for the Tour de France KAL. I can’t wait to see her finished mittens.

I am not that huge a fan of zucchini but since my neighbor’s garden has zucchini growing and he has told me to pick them, I needed to find a recipe to make. Zucchini does not freeze well so finding a way to put it up can be a challenge. I did a search for zucchini fritters since you can supposed freeze them. Instead I found a recipe for Kabak Mücveri or Turkish Zucchini Fritters in English. I didn’t have the cheese called for and I do not like feta so I switched the cheese over to freshly ground Parmesan. I also left out the spring onions since I didn’t have any. All I can say is that I will be making these again. I would make them tonight except for the fact that I do not have enough eggs on hand. All of a sudden I am thinking of a quick trip to the grocery store to pick up some eggs…. And this time, I will try them with some cheddar cheese since the cheese called for in the recipe has a flavor similar to mild cheddar. And I just checked to see how much zucchini I had in the refrigerator and the two that I have weigh about 1-1/2 pounds. I am making them again tonight for dinner. Actually, they are better left over so they may be lunch tomorrow.

p7150015.jpgp7150016.jpgp7160123.jpg (This last photo of blackberries was picked today at lunch time today. Two quarts of berries in less than 10 minutes. I only wanted enough to eat on my yogurt for breakfast tomorrow. But once you start picking it is kind of hard to stop.)

4 Comments

Filed under garden, harry potter, Misc, Projects

4 responses to “No Blackberry Stains

  1. Mmmm, zucchini fritters – those sound yummy! I’m also a big fan of zucchini bread.

  2. 😥 Did I mention once again that the amount of berries you are picking is just not fair. I am so insanely jealous! Guess I will have to try to plant some next year.

    You are making me so hungry!!!!

  3. The zuchini fritters look delicious!

  4. whoneedsgauge

    I made a zucchini bake that tasted a bit like apples. I can find the recipe if you want it.