Still Blushing

p7170001.jpg Niki over at Halfway Down the Stairs nominated me for a Rockin’ Girl Blogger award. And I am still blushing over the nomination. I will be posting my nominations tomorrow. So look out everyone…..

But in the mean time, I picked yet more blackberries yesterday. Yeah, I know I pick blackberries almost every day now. But the bushes are loaded. I have about 30 quarts in the freezer.

I have been holding back only a few berries to use for breakfast with my yogurt. And my yogurt is not just plain vanilla yogurt with berries. I happen to love Swiss muesli. I am actually very picky about my muesli and only eat the one from Bio-Familia from Switzerland. I will take a big container of vanilla yogurt and dump it into a container and add some of the cereal. I mix it up and put a lid on it and refrigerate it at least overnight. I take a little bit out each morning and add fruit and sometimes a little bit more yogurt. I have been known to add a tiny bit of brown sugar to my portion. The nicest part about my breakfast is that I can mix up enough to eat all week and I do not have to think about it every morning.

But yesterday, I was wanting to do something with the berries that I had picked. So I decided to make a cobbler. The recipe I decided to make had to be a vegan one simply because I did not have any eggs in the house. Nor did I have any milk except for soy. So I managed to find a vegan blackberry cobbler recipe and made it. Of course, I had to add some fresh nutmeg and cinnamon to the dough batter. And I was pure evil and sent some one a SMS message with a photo attached. I liked the cobbler and it was delicious. And yes, I will be making the recipe again. Just one note if you decide to make it and that is that I have found vegan baking to produce a crumb that is not as tender as conventional baking. But the taste is fantastic!!!!

p7170014.jpgp7170004.jpg

4 Comments

Filed under garden, Veg

4 responses to “Still Blushing

  1. blackberries… blackberries… how I desire the…

  2. How are you packaging the blackberries before freezing them? I hadn’t thought about freezing them but it’s a great idea! Did you buy pints somewhere?

    I don’t want to have to buy them in the market later in the year – I’d rather eat my own for free! 🙂

    Thanks!

  3. You are evil…to send someone a picture of the cobbler…that’s just bad. I wish I had someplace to put up blackberries, but that will come with time. The more I read about your vegan cooking the more intrigued I am by it, but that will come with time as well.

    Enjoy the berries while you can, they will be a great taste of summer when the cold wind blows and there is snow on the ground. You do know that you can freeze them individually by putting them on a baking sheet and freezing them hard and then putting them in freezer bags. Makes them almost as good as fresh.

  4. whoneedsgauge

    I think I’m going to try that recipe soon. I have lots of frozen berries, so they would be put to great use here! (Plus, vegan! Not a vegan, but I like to try to find good recipes so I can wow people when I tell them it is vegan)