Getting Ready

I think I may be ready in time for Christmas. Mimi doesn’t care if her quilt is finished in time. Nice thing about making something for a cat is that they don’t care about Christmas. They just want affection and to be feed and such. And Mimi has already walked and sniffed all over her quilt. I was working on it at my mother’s house yesterday afternoon and laid it down to place a quilting line on it. Mimi had already been sniffing the quilt so she decided that since it was on the ground, she would walk allover it. I guess she likes it since she stayed on it for awhile. But as soon as I reached for the camera, she walked off it. And in one of the photos you can see what my brother calls her devil side. (That is the only side she shows him too.)

pc170001.jpgpc170002.jpgpc170004.jpg

I still haven’t figured out what to give my brother since he is such a pain in the rear. (His wife says that about him too.) I am packaging up stuff today to ship out UPS to two friends. I still have knitting to finish that was supposed to be part of their presents but I am sure that as knitters they will understand.

I seem to have the start-itis that is going around last night as well. Last night I started a hat that may end up on my nephew’s head or I may keep it for myself. (All depends on the final look.) I happened to have the right weight yarn to make the Thorpe hat created by Kristen of Through the Loops. I started it a few times last night but I ended up making a few modifications to the pattern. The changes that I made were to make the pattern easier for me to get started. The changes for right now are up on my project page over on Ravelry. Once I am done with the hat, I will be sending the changes I made on to Kristen just in case anyone else has those can’t think times when starting a top down pattern.

pc180011.jpg

I was waiting on a book order from Amazon to arrive so that I could send some one’s present out to her. And when my UPS driver arrived this morning, I was a little confused when he delivered a box from Amazon. Some one was sneaky and had a package sent straight to me. Amazon does a wonderful job of wrapping. I wonder if they will wrap all of my presents for me? I am a tissue paper and gift bag wrapper. I always save the tissue paper and bags and recycle them to use again. There is one gift bag that has been going back and forth between my SIL and my mother for about 6 years now. But as to what is in the package, well I can be good and wait to open it.

pc180012.jpg

Time to get back to knitting. I want to try and finish my hat in the next day or two. Plus I have a sweater to finish up. I have one sleeve left to do. At least if it is done but not washed, I can give it as a present Christmas day.

5 Comments

Filed under knitting, Misc

5 responses to “Getting Ready

  1. Yay! You’ll make it with plenty of time! Merry Christmas to you!

  2. Sounds like you’ve got Christmas in the bag!

  3. Suz

    LOL, i love that one bag has been going back and forth.

  4. kenworthknitter

    We used to have a bag of trash, literally, that went back and forth between my dad and my sister every year for about 10 years. It was some film wrappers or some such that got wrapped up and passed back and forth….silly people.

    You’ve been tagged for a Christmas meme that you can find on my blog.

  5. The quilt looks great!

    I love gift bags too — tend to save and recycle them as well.

    I know what you mean about brothers. I have the same problem. Does he like books or outdoorsy stuff? Maybe an REI or Amazon gift certificate would work (that’s what I’m thinking about for mine…)

    Good luck getting everything done — I know what it’s like!