Clapotis Restarted

I restarted my Clapotis yesterday and already am almost ready to start the straight rows. I am going to try and get the full version out of my three skeins of yarn. I am knitting tight and will leave really short tails this time. Maybe I will actually try a Russian join for the first time.

clap412.jpgclap411.jpg

And I have also started a mystery project which I can’t reveal too many details about yet. But I can show you the yarn that I have picked out. Right now I am working on my gauge swatch for the project. But I already have a major problem with this project. I had to go up to my brother’s house while he ran his wife and oldest son to a doctor’s appointment. The youngest was taking a nap and my niece wasn’t home from school yet. So some one was needed to watch the youngest until my niece got home from school. The problem with the new sweater is that my niece saw the yarn and feel in love with it. And she is already trying to convince me to make the mystery project to fit her instead of me. This project is supposed to be mine but knitting it for her would mean less yarn involved and less knitting. Nope, this one is all mine. Maybe I will make her one after I finish mine.

mystery1.jpg

One of the groups I belong to over on Flickr is Rural Decay. And while I was at my brother’s, I found the perfect shot of a rural shed/greenhouse decaying. The only thing is that my brother might kill if I posted the photo. It is his shed. But my niece and I decided that it looks better and more decayed when there is a little bit of snow on it. So I am going to wait to take that shot. But after taking the photo, I will volunteer to help him demolish it. I am good at demolition just don’t ask me to help rebuilt it.

And I received an early birthday present from P. I knew that she had ordered something but wasn’t expecting it to arrive this early. And she told me that I could open it. But I am being evil to her and haven’t done anything more than cut the tape on the box. She keeps IMing me to see if I have opened the box yet. Maybe I will take pity on her and actually open the box.

paintbox.jpg

8 Comments

Filed under knitting

8 responses to “Clapotis Restarted

  1. Suz

    LOL

    You *are* evil, just snipping the tape!!

  2. Good luck on the clapotis! I’m thinking that niece of yours is a good candidate for a few knitting lessons — then she can knit a cool sweater for herself!

  3. I wonder what wonders are inside that box!!!!

  4. Emy

    I know exactly what that yarn is. I madde a sweater out of, and I’ve got 2 full bags of it just waiting to be made into something fabulous. I’m just not sure what that something fabulous is yet.

    But I’m thinking that one of them might be a sweater out of the Paton’s Street Smart booklet. Urban Aran or something? Not the Must Have cardi.

    Gotta run,

  5. now i want to know why the sweater is a secret, since it’s for you… hm…

  6. Can’t wait to see what the mystery project is that yarn is gorgeous!

    Have pity on your friend open the box!

  7. The clapotis is very pretty in the color you chose!

  8. Pingback: Still Knitting « Knit & Play with Fire