No More Humdrum Mitten Swap Questions

Since I am on a mitten kick, I joined the No More Humdrum Mitten Swap 2. (Registration has already closed.) And here are the questions and my answers for the swap. This is going to be interesting since I get to try my hand at knitting mittens for some one else.

How long have you been knitting & how did you learn? I learned when I was 4 and my family was living in Naples. But I really didn’t pick it up again until university. My mother didn’t and still doesn’t knit so I do all sorts of other forms of needlework instead.

Would you consider your skill level to be beginner, intermediate or advanced? Probably advanced even though there are still a few techniques that I haven’t tried. But if I have good instructions or pictures, I can generally figure things out.

What are your favorite colors? Any you dislike? I tend to love bright bold colors. If you look at my projects and what I have posted of my stash over on Ravelry, there is quite a bit of blue, red, and purple there. Basically the only color I do not like is solid yellow. A tiny bit of yellow goes a long way.

Do you like Latvian type patterns? If so, what are your favorite patterns? I have all of the books. And a pair of Latvian mittens are on my list of projects for this year. Since I have two nephews and a niece, I tend to knit practical basic mittens because my mittens somehow disappear and show up on their hands…… I am going to have to hide all of my mittens I think. But what ever pattern I am knitting at the moment is my favorite.

Do you desire mittens for yourself, your “special someone else” or your child? For me.

What is the measurement from your wrist to the tip of your longest finger? What is the circumference of your hand at it’s widest point?
From where my wrist joins my hand, the measurement is exactly 6-3/4 inches. And the measurement from the widest point of my hands is 7-1/4 inches.

What other things do you enjoy knitting? Right now I am working on a mystery project which is a sweater. I also always have at least 3 or more pairs of socks on the needles. Some are plain and others patterned. I just like to knit.

What sort of needles do you enjoy working with? (straights vs circs, bamboo vs aluminum) It all depends on what I am knitting. I try to match my project yarn to the needle. I generally use circulars. I rarely use straights but that is not to say that I don’t on occasion use them. I generally use Addis or bamboo circulars. But when I use dpns, they are wood Brittanys. I have virtually every size and length in Brittanys. But I also have nice metal dpns courtesy of a really good friend. She gave me a set of Celtic Swan dpns last year.

What’s one project you’ve not yet tried but are dying to make? Lady Eleanor. I have never tried entrelac before but the owner of my LYS told me to come one Saturday and just sit there and try to figure it out. If I need help, she will guide me in the right direction. If I can’t figure something out, most of the time I just need a nudge in the right direction.

What’s one yarn you’ve not yet tried but are dying to work with? Well, I truthfully have never met a yarn that I didn’t like. But a frienxd just pointed out to me that Strikkegarn and Finullgarn would be a perfect yarn for mittens. And I haven’t tried them yet.

What other hobbies do you have? Do you spin? Sew? Garden? Cook? I do embroidery, quilt, needlepoint, cross stitch, among other things. I also read. A lot. I cook and like to experiment with food. Do not ask how many cookbooks I own. I have managed to get that collection down to a manageable selection finally.

Besides yarn, do you collect anything? Besides sock yarn? Well, I have this little thing for sea turtles and dragons. Actually Chinese dragons but all dragons are part of the family. And I collect anything to do with Siamese cats.

What kind of goodies do you enjoy? Sweets? Salty? Anything you hate or are allergic to? I am highly allergic to strawberries or poison berries as my niece and oldest nephew call them. Personally, I am a dark chocolate and tea treat person. But my niece and nephew love it when I do swaps because I let them have the treats. (And that means my niece leaves my yarn alone.) And I seriously doubt my 13 year old nephew has ever met a food or treat that he doesn’t like.

Do you have any kids? Pets? No kids. My meezer lives at my parents house since she loves going out side and they have a fenced backyard.

What is your favorite part of Winter? I love snow!!! I grew up in southern Europe so I never really knew snow until I was about 13. I love being inside watching snow fall. I also love to be outside and walking in the snow. I like to walk in the woods when it is snowing and listen to the snow fall. In town, there are too many people out driving when it is snowing to hear it. One of the things I loved about university was that my school was in the mountains and my dorm backed up to the woods. I would walk along the creek into the woods every time it snowed to listen to the snow.

What is your least favorite part of Winter? Ice. Plain and simple. I also don’t like the cold when there is no snow. And I don’t like how fast the nice pristine snow becomes all slushy and ugly.

And so that there is a photo or two in today’s post, I would like to introduce everyone to my new friend Boris. I met him yesterday when I was walking down a street in downtown Frederick. He was sitting patiently on his front step waiting for his human to realize he was there. He was patiently sitting on the step watching the human traffic on the sidewalk. When he saw me, he came down the steps and started talking to me and wanting to be petted. And I obliged. I did knock on the door and while I was waiting, Boris kept talking to me and posing. When his human came to the door, she and I talked. She said that he likes to sit on the front steps and watch the humans come down the sidewalk but he never does further than a foot from the bottom step. He is also checked on generally every few minutes but she was doing laundry. And Boris has never met a camera that he didn’t like.

dsc_0063.jpgdsc_0062.jpgdsc_0065.jpg

Edited: Boris is chipped because he will not wear a collar.

1 Comment

Filed under Swaps

One response to “No More Humdrum Mitten Swap Questions

  1. Have fun with the mitten swap! Boris is a real cutie.