A Taste of Spring

Friday’s weather was supposed to have been a mess. Well, it turned out to be a flop. There was a little bit of snow; there was enough for maybe an inch depending on where you measured it. And there was a little bit of freezing rain but it was in the form of freezing drizzle. And yet yesterday, the weather was nice and sunny. And there were hints of spring right around the corner.

tastespring2.jpgtastespring5.jpgtastespring4.jpgtastespring8.jpg

My mittens are actually much further along than the photo would indicate since I worked on them all day Saturday. I needed to get out of the house so I went over to my favorite LYS and sat there and knit all day. There were a few other regulars who stopped in and stayed to knit for awhile as well. There were some drop ins for knitting help so I pitched in when the shop got busy by helping out. Mitten #1 will be done by tonight except for the thumb. I always save thumbs for last.

And yesterday was spent in the studio ironing. I had traded some one some sock yarn for some 1930’s prints a few months ago and I just got around to actually washing them. I prewash all of my quilting fabrics so that I never have to worry about them. WEll, I never realized exactly how much fabric was in the box I received. I still have ironing to do if that gives you any clue. Once I am done ironing all of the fabric, I will post a picture of it. Now I need to get my quilting motivation back to start designing and making quilts.

3 Comments

Filed under knitting, Misc

3 responses to “A Taste of Spring

  1. I wish we had sun long enough to warm us up and bring out the flowers!

  2. Oooh, which mitten pattern are you using?

  3. We ended up with about 7 in of snow last Friday and are expecting 5-8 in tonight. I kind of all set with the snow and I’m so ready for spring! The mitten looks great so far!

Leave a Reply

