The Inside Loop Parcel

Have you checked out The Inside Loop yet? I will wait for you to go and check it out. It is a wonderful online magazine. The idea is to increase the presence of indie UK designers on the web. Basically it is a Knitty for the UK. The is a Yahoo group so that you can be notified when the issue goes live. And for the first issue, there were several prizes to be awarded for being on the list. I seem to love British designs and I quickly added my name to Yahoo group so that I would be notified when the first issue went live. I had no interest at all in the prizes since we are really lucky on this side of the Pond yarn wise.

Can you imagine my surprise when I received the email stating that I had won the grand prize? Yeah, grand prize!!!! Well, Monday when I walked down to the post office, I had two yellow slips in my box. Two yellow slips equals two packages for me. I was expecting one from P so I was curious about who the other one was from. And there was this very large parcel handed to me with all sorts of international marking on it. Yes, it was the grand prize!!!!

dsc_0069.jpgdsc_0070.jpg

And it was a wonderful taste os yarns that we rarely get to see on this side of the Pond. There were 4 balls of Rowan Big Wool in a color called Smokey. There were 4 skeins of Tess Dawson Suri silk in black and it is a lace weight. There were 10 skeins of Tess Dawson 4 play in a wonderful shade of teal. There is a skein of Cherry Tree Hill lace weight in Gypsy Rose. While this is a US based company, it is hard to find locally for me so this is a treat. There was quite a bit of sock yarn in the parcel as well. There was a skein of another US based yarn company. Dream in Color Smooshy is also hard to find locally so the Cloud Jungle is greatly appreciated.

dsc_0080.jpgdsc_0072.jpg

There are two skeins of yarn from Anni of Confessions of a Yarn Addict. There is a skien of Merino 4 ply (fingering weight) in a lovely lavender. There is another skein Merino Lace Yarn in Smooth Antique. I have always liked Anni’s patterns and now I have a chance to try her yarns.

There are two UK based indie yarn companies that I have been wanting to try but have hesitated due to the weak dollar. And both of these companies donated to the grand prize. I have always been fascinated with the colors offered by the Natural Dye Studio. They use historical natural plant dyes to create subtle colors. And the yarn from them is a mohair loop in a pale green which is actually called aqua. So soft and spring like in color.

The other yarn is from MiddleEarthKnitter Yarns. The shop’s owner and dyer lives in the Scottish Borders. There is a wonderful interview with Cairi in the featured business section of the current issue. The color in the package just happens to be the featured color in the sock pattern Jules. Vintage Denim really does look like well loved jeans. I can’t wait to cast on a new pair of socks using the Jules pattern and this yarn.

dsc_0076.jpg

The card tucked into the parcel was lovely. It was a close-up shot of lavender in bloom. Lavender happens to be one of my favorite plants and scents. This card will be tucked up on my studio wall once I am finally done redoing it. I am so in love with this new knitting site and the yarns!!! The yarns in the parcel make me happy that MDS&W is still several weeks away so that I can enjoy them all by themselves.

7 Comments

Filed under knitting

7 responses to “The Inside Loop Parcel

  1. Wow, congrats! What an awesome package!

  2. whoneedsgauge

    That’s a great haul! I love the site, def one I have to read and such! Even some things to make to reduce the size of my current stash

  3. That’s amazing! You are very lucky, Mia. What a fabulous prize. Smooshy is actually dyed pretty close to me here in Illinois; the only closer dyer is Lorna’s Laces, which is probably a mile from my place!

  4. Wow wow wow!!! That is so exciting, congratulations! 😀

  5. kenworthknitter

    Isn’t it fun to win an unexpected prize? I won a prize from Spin off and got some lovely yarns from them and boy was it a surprise…I don’t ever win anything. Wish I was going to MS&W with you, but made the decision that I wasn’t going to because of going to the Loopy Spring Fling the weekend before. I am planning on going next year!!!

  6. Thanks for the link it looks like a great magazine and I added it to my favorites so I can check it out later.

    How exciting winning the grand prize and what a prize it is! It looks like you’ve got hours of knitting enjoyment there congrats!

  7. Kate

    Phew! It arrived safely. 🙂 I hope you have hundreds of happy knitting hours with all those yarns!