Daily Archives: March 25, 2008

Spring All Over

Spring has invaded everything!!!! Well spring colors at least. The temperature this morning when I got up was a balmy 21 degrees F. Yet, it is supposed to warm up to the mid 50s by afternoon. I have been busy cleaning up and rearranging my studio yet again. I bought some new to me shelves the other week and have gone through every piece of fabric in my fabric stash and sorted it all out. The unquilted tops and every fabric that goes with them are on top of the bookcase now. I am still looking to match them up with backing fabrics still. I have discovered a quilt that I made years ago that is actually larger than a king size quilt that will be partially taken apart this summer and resized to something more realistic. I have discovered quilt blocks made from fabric that I hand dyed years ago. I will be framing them over the summer to display them as art quilts.

There is a large pile of fabric that needs to be boxed up and sent to a friend in a cold snowy place. There is a pile that will go to one of the ladies in my quilt guild who teaches middle school students life skills. Life skills is the new name for home ec. Her kids love my scrap fabrics. There is another pile that will be taken to the guild meeting next week and placed out for any one who wants it. Any fabric that is not claimed will go to the middle school students. This culling of the fabric stash has been very severe and I now have less fabric than I started out with it. And there is more room for yarn!!! But the yarn stash is next for the culling.

But there is a some what new stash in the studio as well. I have rediscovered embroidery. I can’t remember which I learned first – knitting or embroidery. I probably learned both about the same time around the age of four. Embroidery is almost as portable as knitting. I am starting out with tea towels. Everyone needs tea towels. And they will make great presents for the holidays. But the colors of spring have invaded my latest design that I am doing. Knitting progress will resume soon.

dsc_0110.jpg

5 Comments

Filed under embroidery, Misc