A Story about a Fleece

Okay, to clear things up really fast. I did buy a fleece at MDS&W on Sunday but it did not come home with me. And I did not lose it. But it did go home with some one I know and who will love it even more than I could. The details of the fleece are further along in the story.

Saturday morning I arrived about 8:30 and as I was walking into the fairgrounds, a large portion of my stitch group were walking in right behind me. So we all went together to the barn where STR fumes were coming from. The line was not that bad at that point so I got in line while the other three went in to forage. I hadn’t planned on buying any but apparently STR fumes cause a total lack of control. So I switched off with Amanda who managed to restrain herself with only two skeins of STR. Sarah helped me find plenty of STR that followed me home. (Okay, time for the truth, some of it is a present for my niece and half of it was for P since I knew she wouldn’t arrive until later in the day. I can safely buy yarn for P since I know what she loves.)

(I would like to point out that Sarah knitted her way through the festival!)

The next stop for this group was the Cloverhill booth where I did some yarn pimpin’ for a few of the indie vendors to my friends. (Friends don’t let friends not buy good indie yarns!!!) Of course, I had to buy a few (or more) items here. The fumes coming from Steph’s spontaneous bats was overwhelming. And a special spindle or two may have made its way into my bag. Of course there was yarn as well.

As we headed towards the back of the big barn, I managed to ensure Jess into buying some soap. But she resisted the chocolate soap. Not me though. I did manage to lose Jess, Sarah, and Amanda in the big barn though. But I found P and her crew from Ohio.

By the time I found P and gang, I was ready to make a trip back out to the truck. But I waited until we were done with the first round of the big barn though. Trying to pull P, MG, and Andrea away from the fleece sale took some doing. Olga doesn’t spin so it was easier for her to wander away from the fleece sale.

We wandered through the barns such as you could. Saturday it was wall to wall people. We shopped until we where all ready to eat. And that meant a trip out to my truck for lunch. Mac helped by pulling the cooler with lunch in it. (I was smart and used the cooler that had wheels.) Mac stayed at our picnic spot and guarded the food after we all ate.

After eating, we headed back out into the mass of humanity. But on the way out of the picnic area, I ran into a local blogger who had some wonderful yarn in her hands. I promised not to name her so I won’t. But feel free to try and figure it out by her yarn color choices. I ended up with some of the same yarn as well. The yarn is so soft and the colors are wonderful. I bought enough to make two sweaters for myself which had been one of the items on my list.

We ended the day Saturday by heading back to Frederick to eat dinner at a funky little hole in the wall place that is a local hang out. Cuban food is the only way to end the day. Before we left downtown Frederick, we headed over to the local Starbucks so I could make make arrangements to meet some one on Sunday. Plus it was a chance for everyone to see what Gallery Walk in Frederick is about. And while we were walking down the street, we saw my fire mentor and his wife out eating ice cream and enjoying the crowds.

Afterwards,P and Mac headed out for some hotel adventures while I took Olga back to the Metro station. The weekend of MDS&W was the same weekend as the Frederick Marathon which created some issues with hotels in Frederick overbooking by as much as 40%. And that was just Frederick.

Sunday mornign, I stopped by Starbucks again for breakfast and to confirm with my friend what she needed to bring since I was going to take her four year old daughter off her hands so she could shop. Rowan wanted to see the animals. Getting out of downtown was interesting since the Marathon had started. And I have never had that great an opinion of the city police, well, I realized that they were directionally challenged when they forced me to get on west bound 70 when I told them i was headed east bound. At least, I know how to get around Frederick.

Once I got back to the festival it was time to start the day at the Cloverhill booth again. I thought I might have missed something the previous day. Sunday morning, Steph of Loop fame and Kate from Dragonfly Fiber Designs were there. I managed to resist any more purchases there. I wandered the barns until my friend showed up. She not only brought her daughter but her husband. He shopped with her and I went to look at sheep with Rowan. And for the first time in all the years I have been going to the show, I actually made it to the sheep dogs demos. It was interesting to learn all sorts of facts about sheep dogs from a four year old.

And while Rowan and I were looking at the sheep, I found a fleece. P and I had bought dyed BFL locks from this farm the day before. But the fleece had been shorn late the previous afternoon. And the price for the fleece was too good to pass up. I may not be a spinner quite yet but I know enough about fleeces to tell a good one from a bad one.

Since the line was short for t-shirts, I managed to get some for my niece and oldest nephew along with one for Rowan. (That was the only way she would let me stand in line was if she got one and that was after having to walk through two more sheep barns.) Rowan is a very sharp negotiator.

A leaving Rowan with her parents, I headed make down to the Cloverhill booth since I wanted to meet up with Gryphon. And here is where I managed to lose my fleece. Kate and Gryphon took a look at my fleece and thought it was a good one. Kate had been looking for a BFL fleece for herself. Since I still don’t know how to clean a raw fleece nor do I have a wheel yet, I told Kate that she could have it if she really wanted it. She offered to split the fleece with me but after I insisted that she could have the whole fleece, she was willing to buy the whole fleece off of me.

And afterwards, she and I wandered through the big barn together. She figured out quickly that I am a big enabler. She has laid down the new rule that next time we get together, our wallets must stay at home.

I still have to take photos of the fibery goodies that I bought over the weekend but you can enjoy these photos in the meantime. I am still editing since for some reason I seem to insist on taking several hindred shots of everything. Plus work seems to get in the way.

4 Comments

Filed under knitting

4 responses to “A Story about a Fleece

  1. Thanks for stopping by the cloverhill booth (I am the cashier in your picture). I really like your sheepdog trials picture – it came out cool.

  2. It looks like it was so much fun!!

  3. What a wonderful account of the sheep and wool festival. One of these years I’m going to have to go. How nice to let your friend by it from you.

    Aren’t the sheep dog demos cool. I’m so amazed how well these dogs are trained. I can barely get my dogs to sit and lay down lol!

    Glad you had a good time and it sounds like you brought home lots of goodies too!

  4. Sounds like such a cool fibery day! So glad you had such a great time at MS&W!