Blackberry Heaven

Okay, I must really love blackberries to suffer the bug bites that I do when I pick them. The grass this year is teaming with fleas and guess who happens to be mildly allergic to flea bites? The first item on my checklist for berry picking is Benadryl followed by nice high boots. (An old pair of fire boots works out perfect!) Because the spring was so cool. some of the canes are still flowering. I have been hoping and hoping that I would get the perfect shot one of these days for the blackberry lover – a shot with a blossom and a ripe ready to pick berry. I managed to get the blackberry lover’s shot last night. After taking this shot, it was time for Benadryl and some quit time sewing. Well there was some knitting time. I did my swatch for Cobbleston. I am getting 4.5 stitches to the inch instead of 4.75 stitches to the inch the pattern calls for. But given that I am making it for a growing boy, I am not going to worry too much about it. He likes his clothes a little bit oversized anyhow.

2 Comments

Filed under Misc

2 responses to “Blackberry Heaven

  1. Too big is always better than too small, esp. when it comes to growing teenagers!

    Mmm… blackberries.

  2. I need to get out and pick some berries. I have a plant in the back yard that my mom identified as an elderberry, and I am waiting for them to ripen since I have never eaten/used them before!

Leave a Reply

