Not the Planned Post

Today’s post was supposed to be about the quilting that is going on. But after receiving a specific email this morning, I changed the post. I have been subscribing to the Daily Green for quite awhile now. This is an environmental website and there is a section for photography. Users are encouraged to submit their photos in a few different categories. I submitted the photo I posted the other day called OBX Sunrise but called it Coastal Sunrise and submitted it under the category worth preserving. The email I received this morning was to notify me that the photo had been selected as the Photo of the Day. This means not only is the photo up on the front page of the site but it is in the daily email that is sent out to subscribers.

Taken in the area of Rodanthe NC

Taken in the area of Rodanthe NC

And while I am on the subject of photography, I have been uploading photos on a regular basis to JPG Magazine. The photos in every issue are voted on by members of the community. And one of my photos meets the theme for the next issue which is Nighttime. If you would like to click on over and check it out, I would appreciate it. And if you like the photo, please vote on it.

Crabbing is great at night.

Crabbing is great at night.

I am spending the afternoon photographing a few small quilts in the hopes of maybe getting them into a local art show that needs some more fiber art. The organizer told me that they have plenty of photograph and scultpure right now but he would like to add some more fiber arts. I am still not sure that I want to sell some of my quilted pieces but I can always set the price high. Of course the last time I did this, I sold the piece. I will share the photos of the quilts later.

3 Comments

Filed under photography

3 responses to “Not the Planned Post

  1. Congratulations! Mia, your photos really are amazing. Thanks for the postcard from the Outer Banks, too! I put it up on the fridge right away. 🙂

  2. congratulations! That is so cool!

  3. That is so great, congrats!