A Post about Quilting

I have been busy quilting lately. The weather has been more fall than late summer here in the mid-Atlantic so I have been motivated to work with fabric instead of yarn. I took my current mini to me to the beach since it is a hand-work quilt. But I have been finishing up quite a few quilted UFOs lately.

My August mini quilt in progress

My August mini quilt in progress

I have also been playing with some of the techniques I have found in an art quilt magazine that I love. I have been rusting fabric. Yes rusting fabric. I like the first piece of fabric that I have dyed using this technique but I need to get more rusty objects and try it again. I can see using this fabric as the background for an applique piece. I will be doing this again after getting more rusty items to lay on/wrap around the fabric.

A shot of fabric rusting

A shot of fabric rusting

Some of the quilts that I have been finishing have been languishing in my UFO pile for quite awhile. I took one to the machine quilter the other nigh and I honestly can’t remember when I pieced it. But I am slowly reducing the UFO pile. Almost all of the small and lap size tops in the pile have been quilted. Next up are the larger bed size ones. And since I don’t want to have to piece together backings for them, I am going to be going to the a quilt store or two this weekend to see if I can find some 108 inch wide backing fabrics that I like. If I can’t find any that I like, I will be piecing fabrics for the bed quilts. I want to give my machine quilter at least one bed quilt in a few weeks.

Hand dyed fabric by me!!!

Hand dyed fabric by me!!!

A closeup of the fabric colors.

A closeup of the fabric colors.

aka Moo cards sewn together

aka Moo cards sewn together

They really do look like Moo cards up close.

They really do look like Moo cards up close.

I hand dyed most of the fabrics in this quilt

I hand dyed most of the fabrics in this quilt

A closeup view of the pattern

A closeup view of the pattern

And just as a note, the quilts were photographed before being washed. The quilting patterns really jumped out after being washed.

3 Comments

Filed under quilt

3 responses to “A Post about Quilting

  1. Your quilts are wonderful!

  2. those are all beautiful! I love the colors.
    there are so many projects I want to start but I am forcing myself to wrap a few things up first. I really want to be in front of the sewing machine a lot right now!

  3. Gorgeous quilted projects! I especially like the one that looks like Moo cards.

    I had never even heard of rust dyeing before. That’s really neat.