Mini Quilts

I have had my mini quilts for August done but haven’t posted them yet. I used my point and shoot to photograph them. Can I say that there is a huge difference between my point and shoot and my DSLR? It is surprising how fast you get used to manual focus and setting the aperture and picking your shutter speed.

The theme for the month of August was Hand Work. (I got to pick the theme.) I decided to make a yo-yo quilt. I am happy with the way it turned out but figuring out the layout took me quite awhile. I had planned on there being orange in the quilt but ended up using no orange at all. I also did the plain Jane theme. Except mine was not a regular plain Jane. I decided to try and experiment that I had seen in a quilting magazine or book at some point. I like the result and will be doing it again.

I also m managed to take a photo of the socks I am currently working on. It is up in the air who will end up with them since there are now three of us with the same size foot. I wasn’t sure about bamboo yarn at first, but I am loving the Regia Bamboo.

I did try to take a photo of my healing chigger bites but I will have to pick up the DSLR for them. I couldn’t focus in tight enough with the point and shoot.

I am keeping a careful eye on the weather forecast. Hanna can’t seem to make up her mind where she wants to land. The Chesapeake Bay and Washington DC are under the watch. And if she comes up the Bay, I may be looking at lots of rain. But we do need the rain. And if it rains, it means I can stay home and knit.

And since I finally manged to download the photos from the point and shoot, I am posting one of the shoots from Cape Hatteras that has been on there for over a month.

The perfect view

The perfect view

1 Comment

Filed under knitting, Misc, quilt

One response to “Mini Quilts

  1. Totally cool yo-yo’s.
    I love the fabrics you chose to go together.