The Storm that Wasn’t

Okay, I know that I have said this before. But I would really like to have the pay that some weather people get for being wrong. Yes, there was a lot of rain in a short period of time but it was really no where as bad as they said it would be. Hanna was good for the earth though. My section of Maryland has not seen rain in quite a few weeks. And Hanna brought 3 to 4 or more inches of rain to the area. (The rain was blowing sideways at times so it was hard to measure.) There was very little flooding since the ground was dry and soaked everything up. Everything is nice and green now.

A view of the rain

A view of the rain

Since I had spent most of last week at home because of the itching from my chigger bites, I decided to brave the early rains and head out to my favorite LYS. I was out early and stopped by my favorite Starbucks for a hot drink before hand. I spend about 2 hours at the shop before heading home. I got home just as the heavy rains started. I managed to spend the afternoon doing some cleaning that needed to be done. I even went up into the attic to change the burnt out light bulb up there. (It is the only light up there other than the windows and it has been burnt out for awhile.) I love going up into my attic and listening to storms. I made a nice big wok full of fried rice which I have been eating this week. I managed to do some knitting and watching some B-5.

Time to check the downspouts

Time to check the downspouts

Sunday, I spend the afternoon at an Artists/Farmers Market. Sadly there were way more vendors than customers. And there were more artists than farmers this week. And that is not saying much since there were maybe about 10 stalls total. But it was nice to sit and talk to the other artistans there.

Afterwards, I went ot a Brazilian festival in the main park in Frederick. I had heard about the festival and was curious. Ebven though it had rained the day before, the fields were not muddy like you would expect. I got there late but manged to wander through the booths and try some of the food. I saw a hyacinths macaw who feathers were stunning. When I saw the bird, I thuoght this would make a lovely sock yarn color. Actually all of the birds had wonderful colors that would be beautiful as sock yarn. Now that is the sign of a true sock yarn addict.

I wanted to try Brazilian food and there were two stands that had long lines. I took that to be a sign of it being good. One was for kabobs which is typcial street food the world over. The other one had a menu that was all in Portuguese so I decided that this was the line for me. I asked someone in line what I should order and she said feijoada which even I know is the national dish. The dish was served with the typical seasoned greens, which I liked, and fafofa which is seasoned manoc flour. I was told to sprinkle it over the feijoada. I will be honest and say that it was okay but not the best that I have ever eaten. But talking to some one later, I was told that what was being served was a poor excuse for the national dish. I will give feijoada a try again bu I will try to find a Brazilian restaurant in the DC area to try it.

Remeber when?

Remeber when?

I am hoping for some dry weatehr by the end of the week since I am suppsoed to go on a photo walk at the county fair. They offer a free night but you still have to pay $5 to park. (The conty fair is privately owned and they always find a way to make some money even when they are offereing something for free!)

Into the Tunnels

Into the Tunnels

Look Close

Look Close

6 Comments

Filed under Misc

6 responses to “The Storm that Wasn’t

  1. Glad to hear that Hanna wasn’t too bad after all! Sounds like a pretty nice weekend, all in all.

  2. Glad you didn’t get hit too bad with the storm and it sounds like a wonderful weekend in spite of the rain!

  3. I think they like the idea that everyone is getting worked up for a big storm. But I listen down here! The evacuation idea is better than the alternative! Plus, I really would rather be with electricity than without, I’m spoiled that way when it’s 90 some odd degrees 🙂

  4. When you go out for that Brazilian food. Make sure you have a caipirinha to go with it. (I have always enjoyed the Grill From Ipanema in Mount Pleasant.)

  5. As always, your photos are wonderful!

    So happy you all got just enough rain without getting the full brunt of the storm. Weather forecasters I think must spend a lot of their time guessing. Here, where you’d think it’d be easier with fewer weather changes (in fact anything that isn’t sunny is referred to as ‘weather’ here) still get it wrong a lot.

  6. Oh, here you are! I forgot you are on wordpress. look out for ivan, which is, luckily for my family, missing new orleans, but not so luckily for Houstonians headed for galveston. good to hear from you!