Finally Friday

I hadn’t planned on going missing this week but I have been trying to catch up on blog reading and pod cast listening. I am almost caught up on pod cast listening. Blog reading is still behind. Email responses is getting better as well.

One thing I did manage to get done this week was to pick up a pile of quilts from the lady who machine quilts for me. She and I missed each other at the guild meeting in August. And I met her at a different guild meeting and she had forgotten them. But I had remembered to bring her more at that meeting. So the pile was a bit larger than normal. I have about 6 more quilts to bind in the pile. One little quilt though has gone straight to the top of the pile. I made this top quite awhile ago and it is black and white with cats all over it. I am pretty easy about what my machine quilter does pattern wise. I normally give her a note card with a description of the quit, a name, and for pattern it normally reads what ever works best for the quilt. For the kitty one, I remember putting down something cat related like maybe fish. But she did even better. I am known for not wearing my name tag at quilt guild meetings. Instead, my name tag is the fact that I am always working on a sock or some other knitting project at quilt guild. The quilting design has little yarn balls on it!!!! I want this quilt done so I can hand it on the wall.

The design on my cat quilt

The design on my cat quilt

The rest of the pile can wait a bit. I am going to wait for the weather to cool a bit more first. A few of the ones in the pile are large enough to be lap quilts. I also have to think about who I know would best fit with them. I also need to piece together more backing fabrics to get a few more done this year. I am rapidly getting to the bed size quilts.

A view of the quilt design

A view of the quilt design

With all of the rain recently, my sweet potato vines have taken off. And as usual when my garden takes off, I have been photographing it. I planted three different colors of the vine and the colors together are amazing. One plant is chartreuse, and the other two are different shades of dark purple. I like the color combination but trying to photograph it can be tricky. I have been playing with photographing more and more in black and white. And surprisingly this has been the perfect way to photograph this plant. So enjoy these photos over the weekend. If the weather holds out this weekend should be spent playing with the camera. Tonight is the “free” night at the county fair, tomorrow is wandering around Frederick, and Sunday is a photowalk up in Gettysburg. But this is all dependent on the weather of course. If it rains, I will be quilting and knitting instead.

The sweet potato vine leaves are nice and bright

The sweet potato vine leaves are nice and bright

Yes, they are bright.

Yes, they are bright.

The colors are so much better in b&w

The colors are so much better in b&w

ANd if you scrolled down this far, yes there is knitting going on. Photos soon.

3 Comments

Filed under garden, photography, quilt

3 responses to “Finally Friday

  1. Rain on Sunday? Never! 😉

  2. Your sweet potato vines are gorgeous! And you are right, they look totally cool in black and white.
    I love the balls of yarn. What is your favorite way to bind a quilt? I am doing a baby one this weekend and I cant decide how to do the binding – I think I may be up for something new.

  3. I absolutely love the yarn balls. She did a great job, they are adorable.