Grace is Not My Name

The fair ended Saturday night. The sheep to shawl contest was canceled. The reason given did not really seem valid to any of us who were working in the tent. But the person who made the decision is the person who was in charge of the tent. I have tons of photos that need some editing but I will post a few here. The knit count for the week was five cowls with a sixth started. I need to photograph the 3 drying on top of my dryer.

One of the sheep who talked to me in the sheep barn

One of the sheep who talked to me in the sheep barn

If some one was to tell me that there were other animals there besides, the sheep, alpacas, llamas, goats and horses, I never saw those other animals. Some of the sheep were quite funny. The 4-Her’s raise market lambs not wool lambs so all of the sheep for the most part were naked. I wish I could have had some of the fleeces and I don’t even spin yet!!!

Yes, some one was brave enough to try it.

Yes, some one was brave enough to try it.

And I do have a lasting reminder of the fair though. Saturday night I was walking from the sheep barns to the midway to buy an apple dumpling. (The church that sells the best ones always has a line so I was hoping for a short line.) It was dark and let’s just say that the pathways at the fair leave something to be desired. Yes, they are very uneven and full of cracks and uneven. Guess who felt her foot roll and heard a pop? Yep, Grace is not always my name. I managed to sprain the ankle that I have broken before. Rather than call 911 on my cell and be transported up to the EMS station, I walked up there. I knew the medic on duty and we iced the ankle pretty good. He gave me a few more of the temporary ice paks to keep icing my ankle. It is still swollen and it hurts. But having your foot propped up and iced means you can watch plenty of tv, read, and knit. But I have to say that I am sick of Darkwing Duck. And after my ankle heals, I plan on talking to some one I know on the fair board about the state of the pavement there. Sometimes it is useful to know lots of people. Not sure if talking the people I know who are on the board will do anything but it can’t hurt.

These two were resting as they waited to go home

These two were resting as they waited to go home

4 Comments

Filed under Misc

4 responses to “Grace is Not My Name

  1. Sorry to hear about your ankle. I hope it’s feeling better.

    That last picture is so cute!

  2. Ouch! Sprained ankles are so painful. But it is nice to have some tv/reading/knitting time. The sheepies are so cute!

  3. globetrotteri

    I’m sorry to hear about your ankle, but I’m sure you will make the best use of your time with some wonderful MIA creations. I can’t wait to see what you come up with. I love your little lambikins photos. They’re adorable. I miss hometown fairs and carnivals. We don’t get that kind of thing here in Taiwan.

  4. ouch!
    talk does help, especially when they know someone not so forgiving might sue