Proof of …

A different piece of lace knitting

A different piece of lace knitting

Yes, there is actually knitting going on. In addition to trying to finish up some sock UFOs, I am knitting lace. Actually, I am knitting two lace projects at the same time. Luckily for me, they are the same pattern just two different yarns. The pattern is Gale from Anne Hanson of Knitspot. And the yarns are totally different. The first one that was cast on is a true lace weight. I love Kate from Dragonfly Fibers’s color ways. Let’s just say that she and I both like bright colors. The color way that I am using for the first shawl is Kate’s signature color way bougainviella. And yes, it is as bright as it sounds. I like the little tiny bands of color that are appearing the shawl.

The second one that I am knitting is the same exact pattern except that it is in a different yarn. I went in to the LYS looking for something to knit Boing out of when I saw the yarn I ended up buying, I knew it had to be Gale again. The colors just dictated that it had to be Gale. What I have a problem with though is that the manufacturer insists on calling the yarn a lace eight. It is not a lace weight, it is a fingering weight. The yarn is Ella Rae lace merino. The yarn is nice and squishy though. And the funny thing is that I am knitting both shawls on US size 4s. But they feel totally different.

Proof that there is actually knitting going on

Proof that there is actually knitting going on

I am going through photos this weekend looking for fiber related ones. I need to get them printed out and made into cards. I am helping Gryphon and Kate at Stitches and Gryphon is kindly letting me put my note cards up for sale in her booth.

Play of light and dark on autumn leaves

Play of light and dark on autumn leaves

A golden bokeh moment

A golden bokeh moment

Comments Off on Proof of …

Filed under eye candy, knitting

Comments are closed.