Stitches East Recap

Gryphon showing off her skills

Gryphon showing off her skills

Stitches East is over. It was fun seeing all of the yarn out there. The yarn fumes were amazing. I was there both Saturday and Sunday since I volunteered to help Gryphon and Kate out with help for their booth.

Yes, I did manage to get some shopping done on both Saturday and Sunday. Most Saturday though since there was plenty of help in the booth. I still need to photograph my purchases though. I did manage a trade of some yarn with Karida of Neighborhood Fibers. And I got to see Karida’s mom again. I met her mom for the first time this past spring at MDS&W. I also can’t forget Holly of Knit Happens was there helping out Karida in her booth. And Holly, I will be looking for your alpaca photo in the shop. (I am hoping to get down to the shop within the next two weeks. I really like Knit Happens but I just don’t get there as often as I should.)

Even though it was exciting to sell some of my note cards, it was not the most exciting thing about the market though. I managed to meet Jean Frost, Cheryl Potter of Cherry Tree Hill, and the infamous Sheri of the Loopy Ewe. (She even brought Loopy for the trip back East. Check out her blog to see where Gryphon stuck Loopy for the photo-op.) The best part was meeting Cat Bordhi!!!! Yes, the Cat Bordhi!!!! The one and only Cat of magical and mysterious sock patterns that make sense after knitting them.

The opportunity to meet Cat Bordhi made the drive and paying for parking worth it. Thank you Gryphon for managing to meet her on Friday and talk her into coming into the booth on Saturday.

Both Kate and Gryphon are updating their shops now after the show. I would really recommend checking them out. And if Kate has any of the Dragon berry colorway left, I would highly recommend snapping it up. I had asked her about a cranberry colorway and she went one better and created a nice wonderful rich red she calls Dragonberry. I will try to get a really good photo of my skein of lace weight and squishy sock soon.

Karida of Neighborhood Fibers

Karida of Neighborhood Fibers

Angie of Serendpitous Ewe

Angie of Serendpitous Ewe

Kate & Gryphon

6 Comments

Filed under knitting

6 responses to “Stitches East Recap

  1. It looks like a fabulous time!

  2. I’m so glad I got to see you guys at Stitches!! It was such a fun weekend.

  3. Wow – sounds like you had a great trip….

  4. Sounds like so much fun!

  5. It was so great to hang out with you all weekend. Thanks so much for all your help, and i love that picture!

  6. i’m glad i’m not the only one who squee’d over cat bordhi!