New Ideas

Okay, a new recipe is all. On Saturday, I went to the spin-in at Paula aka Woolarina’s house. And yes, I actually spun. It wasn’t much but thanks to Kate and Jess, I was actually able to get started. I had brought some fiber and a few spindles with me for the spin in. Although I was knitting for awhile until Kate showed up. And I made Kate a promise that I would spin every day for the next two weeks for at least 30 minutes. And she had Jess make sure I didn’t have my fingers crossed too!!!!

I will be honest and admit that I did not actually spin last night. I went to my baking class and had a little case of sugar overload. My body does not like that much sugar. But who could resist sampling a lovely buche de noel and a poppyseed cake. I did take home my sample of the apple pie though. But I spent my 30 minutes predrafting fiber. Does that count Kate? I am all set up to actually spin tonight as a result.

I did make some goodies to take to Woolarina’s house. I made two vegan pumpkin pies Friday night and took one with me. I also made a no-dairy spinach dip. (The recipes are from the e-book by Nava Atlas available on her site.) (My oldest nephew is supposed to be getting back to me about his pie. He was going to sample it after school today.) While we were talking and knitting and spinning, I mentioned a recipe that I have to make for Thursday. It was a favorite growing up and always a special treat. The recipe requires a little bit of work but is well worth it. And this is one dish that my brother and his family will not be allowed any of the leftovers on Thursday. But I will share the recipe here. It is not exactly low fat or really that healthy but nice for a treat. So Paula, here is the recipe for you. And it does contain butter like you thought it should.

Baked Potato Casserole

6 medium potatoes, boiled and shredded *
1/4 cup melted butter
1 can of cream of chicken soup (I use the low sodium version)
2 cups shredded cheddar cheese (I like extra sharp cheddar) **
1 pint sour cream
1/3 cup green onions, chopped

Combine the potatoes, melted butter, soup, cheddar cheese, sour cream, and green onions in a large glass casserole dish. Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes or until bubbling and the top is slightly golden.

* Baking potatoes work best. The potatoes must be shredded not mashed. The texture and taste are off if the potatoes are mashed. Cool the potatoes after cooking them before shredding them. We have always used a hand grated to shred the potatoes.

** I prefer to hand grate my own cheddar cheese. I have never found extra sharp cheddar in the packages but sharp cheddar works just as well.

*** Best part of the recipe is that it is better if made a day or two ahead of time. The flavors blend. And the dish is equally good cold, hot or room temperature. It is also good for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

If anyone decides to try the recipe, please let me know what you think of it. I really have been knitting but I need to take photos of it. But Mother Nature has been giving me overcast skies during the day and I haven’t broken down yet and am not willing to use the flash for photography just yet.

And today’s photo is my youngest nephew playing Wii with his big brother. He thinks he is playing but he really isn’t yet. In this shot, he was telling “TT” who he wanted to be.

Sweet boy helping play Wii

Sweet boy helping play Wii

4 Comments

Filed under Recipes

4 responses to “New Ideas

  1. The recipe looks yummy! I’m actually a bit relieved my only task for this Thanksgiving is picking out a bottle of wine — usually I love to cook, but the quarter has just been too darn busy.

    Good luck sticking with the spinning!

  2. That sounds delish Mia…

  3. yes! it counts to predraft. I’m glad you’re still spinning. is it getting any easier? keep it up! Your cowls are gorgeous. i may need to make one for the girlie to go with her new pom pom hat:)

  4. Pingback: Food & Knitting « Knit & Play with Fire