Knit Knit Knit

I have been busy knitting lately. And it seems like all I have been knitting lately is cowls. Although I have been working on finishing up some UFOs too. But cowls are fast and make great holiday presents. As soon as I finish one cowl, I am casting on for another one. And cowls have been good because they have forced me to finally sit down and master grafting and new binding off techniques. And as a treat for reading all the way through the post, there is another recipe at the very end.

I hate grafting which is one of the reasons why I do toe up socks. But I really like the Crofter’s Cowl pattern so I have learned to finally graft without having to look at my cheat sheet every time I graft. I have two finished and another one on the needles. Yes, I am hoping to speed up the amount of time it takes me to graft the 80 to 90 stitches together. Practice makes perfect after all. One is my SIL’s Christmas present. I am not sure if she will like the colors but every one needs some color in their life. The purple one is mine but the colors are off in the photo.

My SIL's Christmas present

My SIL's Christmas present

My first attempt at grafting

My first attempt at grafting

I finished a Razor Shell cowl out of some hand spun by P. I had a few mistakes in the cowl but my niece doesn’t care. She wore it over the weekend on a church retreat. She wears all of my cowls that I will give her. She likes wearing hand knits to school. Plus a cowl is easier to stuff in her backpack when she gets to school than a scarf. And if she gets cold, she can always pull it out and wear it in class. And hopefully this weekend, I can get her to model some of the cowls.

Yarn spun by P

Yarn spun by P

I have also finished an orange Gloria cowl that needs to be mailed out to Paris. Ms. Mac wore her orange sunglasses all summer. She needs to replace them with something like a cowl for the winter.

A present that needs to be mailed

A present that needs to be mailed

And there is another cowl already on the needles. I found an oddball skein of Woolarina’s yarn that I bought off awhile ago. It is only 110 yards in a dk weight so I am doing another Razor Shell cowl. This one might end up being for me as well. I never decide these things until after I am finished.

Latest Cowl ont eh needles

Latest Cowl ont eh needles

And there is another cowl in the works that should have the pattern posted by December 8th at the latest. Yes, I am venturing into pattern writing.

And if you have read all the way through this post, I am giving you another recipe. It is another potato recipe that is one of my brother’s favorites. It is for a potato salad that is nice and yummy. And the best part is that it it is safe to serve at room temperature. It might be a new addition to a Thanksgiving menu that is different than mashed potatoes. This is posted especially for Jessie of A Piece of Vermont.

Lemon Basil Potato Salad

2 1/2 pounds small Yukon gold or red potatoes, cut into eighths
2 tablespoons olive oil
1/4 cup fresh squeezed lemon juice
4 garlic cloves, finely minced
1/3 – 1/2 cup chopped fresh basil (I eyeball it)
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
2/3 cup olive oil
1/2 medium-size purple onion, thinly sliced (I dice them fine so my brother can’t pick them out)
1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan (optional) (I never use)
3-4 thick bacon slices, cooked and crumbled (optional) (I never use this either)

Coat the potatoes with olive oil and place on a foil-lined jellyroll pan. (The foil helps with clean up) Roast at 450 degrees stirring occasionally, 20 to 25 minutes or until tender and golden.

Whisk together the lemon juice and next 5 ingredients; whisk in 2/3 cup olive oil in a slow, steady stream. Gently toss potatoes, onions, and Parmesan (if using) with vinaigrette. (I add the basil to the potatoes and toss it all together.)

Sprinkle with bacon if using. Serve at room temperature. This is best the day it is made.

5 Comments

Filed under knitting, Recipes

5 responses to “Knit Knit Knit

  1. Knit knit knit, indeed! You’ve been busy. What a lovely bunch of gifts. Grafting’s not my favorite — I always have to check my cheat sheet.

  2. Cowl question, as I am making a couple for Christmas (and I LOVE the Crofter’s Cowl): Does the wrong side bother you? I mean, I know the inside shows somewhat on any cowl, and I keep thinking it might be a problem. I hope the answer is “no” because, see above, I love the C.C.

    Grafting. You probably already have a good system, but I have found the easiest sequence to remember is one put forth by Nona at Nona Knits: in to the center, slip off; out from the center, leave on. It’s the regular Kitchener but it obviates the need to remember knitwise/purlwise and all that and reduces the steps to 2 instead of 4 (if you know what I mean). Forget it; go with what you know.

    Again, thanks for the recipe.

  3. Cowls are great gifts! Those are pretty cool colors too

  4. Umm…your recipe sounds delicious. Thanks for giving it to us.

  5. ooh, that recipe looks delicious. and so do those cowls! how goes the spinning?