Busy Spinning

Who knew spinning was so addictive? I was starting to run out of fiber that I am willing to spin right now when my orders arrived in this morning’s mail. I quickly realized last week that I would need more fiber in the stash. So I placed some orders for more roving. And the orders arrived in the nick of time.

My first attempts at actually making yarn

My first attempts at actually making yarn

Over the weekend, I managed to spin several different yarns. And practice really does make perfect. I have gone from a definite bulky weight yarn to something close to a DK weight. I have spun various types of wool and wool blends. One of the wool blends even had alpaca which is supposed to be a bit slippery but I liked it. I have ventured into plying yarns too. I even tried plying with thread. One advantage to being a quilter is that you have quite a bit of thread on hand. And my niece has volunteered to take any hand spun that I don’t want. Of course, I loaned her a drop spindle, some roving and some directions. She is hooked.

My first attemtp at 3 ply and thread plying

My first attemtp at 3 ply and thread plying

And I am still spinning.

Dyed Romney that really should have been carded more

Dyed Romney that really should have been carded more

7 Comments

Filed under spinning

7 responses to “Busy Spinning

  1. wow! gorgeous new spins, girl. kudos!

  2. looks great! It’s addicting, isn’t it?! 🙂

  3. Holy cow, you’ve been spinning up a storm! Looks like you’re a natural. 🙂 Happy New Year, Mia.

  4. It looks great! You have a new hobby!

  5. don’t you come near me with the yarn or the wheel! i don’t need you to pass on your enabling habits with another hobby~ i already have a drop-spindle, isn’t that enough!

    happy new year! (hope it’s a good one!)

  6. morningjoy

    What lovely yarns you have spun. Your creativity seems boundless. I’m so glad you’re enjoying yourself. Happy New Year!

  7. Your handspun is wonderful! I love the colors and the threadplyed yarn!