Tempting Yarns

Here are a few more of my recent hand spun yarns. The first one is a wonderful soft pink called Be Mine. The roving was a blend merino/seawool from Creatively Dyed. This is the yarn I was spinning when I had a little problem with my wheel. Well actually the end of the bobbin popped off for some reason. My local Schacht dealer called Schacht and replaced my bobbin. She not only replaced the bobbin but rewound the singles onto the new bobbin with a loss of less than two yards!!!

Pink handspun fingering weight

Pink handspun fingering weight

The glue that holds the bobbin together didn’t hold for some reason. Schacht said that it should have never made it out the door. It is rare for them to have a problem but it was promptly corrected. And my dealer went above and beyond by making sure my singles were saved. Yes, I could have saved money by buying my wheel from an online place, but I would not have had this customer service.

One of the first things I learned about buying roving to spin is that I like to buy at least 8 ounces or more.I bought 12 ounces of a roving called Candleberry right before Christmas and spun it up. It was my first attempt at trying to aim for fingering weight. The first 4 ounces ended up around a DK weight but I was shooting for a fingering weight. It is living with the wonderful Jess aka Bunnysquirrel now. It keeps whispering to her that it wants to be mittens. I ended up taking the remaining 8 ounces and spun them up and ended up with more of a sport weight. I have lots of this yarn now. The colors are lovely and the yarn has not been whispering to me yet.

A DK weight handspun

A DK weight handspun

I am currently spinning a lovely dark pink merino that I bought from Roxanne of Zen Yarn Garden. This yarn will definitely be fingering weight. I am thinking of trying to find a lighter shade of pink to spin up and use it to make this a three ply yarn. But it will be lovely as a two ply. And the colors as they spin up are reminding me of old roses so it is called Winter Roses. (I still have to spin the second half of this roving. I am still working on the first bobbin. It was a large bump of roving.)

Still spinning this one

Still spinning this one

And in actual knitting, I have finally broken down and started a sweater for myself. I still haven’t finished my nephew’s sweater but I want to start mine. I had bought yarn at Stitches East from Nanny Kennedy of Seacolors for a February Lady Sweater. But instead the yarn is becoming Acer. I will be ordering more of this yarn to make the February Lady Sweater and to have some sweater yarn in my stash soon.

And there may a pair of fingerless mitts on the needles as well. Stash yarn needs to be used up too.

4 Comments

Filed under Projects, spinning

4 responses to “Tempting Yarns

  1. I love that candleberry yarn, it is so cheery, I bet it would be a beautiful hat for you!!

  2. We seem to have the same color tastes. Nice yarn, nice spinning! I plan to buy my second wheel locally for the same reason. Local customer service can’t be beat.

  3. OMG, your spinning is so lovely. Gorgeous skeins.

  4. The pink yarn is beautiful! How neat that you can make it. 🙂

    Lisa (flickr lmdesign7)

Leave a Reply

