My New Toy

One of my batts in progress

One of my batts in progress

My new spinning toy is a drum carder. I was hoping to pick one up at the auction at Maryland Sheep and Wool this year but managed to find one through pure accident. And the price was right so I took a chance. And the wonderful Gryphon actually picked it up for me and brought to the Yarn Party for me.

I have been playing with it since Tuesday night. And for the non spinners out there, drum carders carry warnings that say to keep your fingers away from certain parts. They are there for a reason. Of course, I didn’t manage to injury myself on the parts that carry the warning. I managed to skewer my finger on the batt picker instead. I did go to the closest urgent care even though the bleeding did slow down with pressure. My tetanus shot was about 5 years old and it is better safe than sorry. But trying to explain how I skewered my finger was another story.

Batt made from natural dyed Maine Island

Batt made from natural dyed Maine Island

But one shot and some super glue to the finger later, I came home to have a nice of wine and play with the drum carder some more. No one ever warned me that the drum carder is addictive. I have been making batts for a week now. And some have even been shared and spun up.

And now that I have learned a few tricks from Kate of Dragonfly Fiber and the wonderful geekkitty, there will be lots of batt making in the planning. And the spinning wheel addiction is in full force. So many spinners are happy with just one or maybe two wheels. I am already looking for wheels two and three with an eye to maybe adding a fourth or even filth wheel. Maybe it is because I am around other spinners who seem to think that everyone should have at least two or three wheels? I mean there are good crowds and bad crowds among even spinners. But I like my spin group and their “bad” influences!!

More natural dyed wool in a batt

More natural dyed wool in a batt

There has been some knitting and some frogging. But not much since it is kind of hard to knit when your index finger hurts. But I have drug out a WIP that has been on the needles awhile to work on so hopefully photos of it soon.

A recarded Loop batt to blend a bit more

A recarded Loop batt to blend a bit more

3 Comments

Filed under spinning

3 responses to “My New Toy

  1. You’ve inadvertently convinced me that I should never take up spinning. I don’t need anything else dangerous in the house, I have my knitting needles thanksmuchly, and I don’t need anything else addictive! Hope your finger recovers soon. Knitters need their fingers.

  2. Gorgeous Batts!!
    Have you spun any yet??

  3. Gingy

    How lovely! Aside from the stabbing-yourself part.