Re-Enactments

Sorry, my internet connection has been flaky the past few days. The correct answer is re-enacting. But it is not SCA. This area of Maryland was the frontier during the FrenchIndian War. One of the houses that was standing at the time of this was still stands in Frederick. It is now an architectural museum showcasing how houses were built. I was there this past weekend during Colonial Days. I was on my way to my LYS when I passed by and decided to stop. I never made it to the LYS. I ended up spending both Saturday and Sunday there.

Early Drive Thru

I have thought about doing re-enacting before but I had never really felt like I had found the right period of history. SCA was not for me. And the other museum in town focuses more on plantation life which I do like but I do not want to wear a corset if at all possible. One of the people I was speaking with on Saturday was the director of the museum. He told me that while he is all for accuracy in costuming, he still wants people to be involved. So for women, corsets are optional. That is what sold me. Plus the people I met helped to sell the deal. I am all signed up to be a volunteer at the museum for demonstrating the needle arts including spinning, knitting, embroidery, hand sewing and other forms of the needle arts. Plus I may also be asked to take photos at events.

Colonial Medicine

Two of the people that I met also participate in events up at Fort Frederick. I may have also agreed to help with some documentation of a restoration that is being done up there by the Friends of Fort Frederick.

Home Heating

I have found a pattern to make my clothing that is time appropriate thanks to P. Actually she found me two patterns that I have ordered. I will make the simple set of clothing first since it requires very little in the way of fitting. The first event I have coming up is June 20th. I am not going to push myself to get the outfit done by than since I can still being dong something even in modern clothing. (My camera will be in use at the least.)

Regardless of the century, apple pie is a winner

Regardless of the century, apple pie is a winner

I have already made some new friends in the past week who are involved with historical preservation. Michele was the woman who was cooking in the clue from Tuesday. Michele and her partner, Doug, were very welcoming to me and answered my questions and freely shared their knowledge. I am looking forward to working with Michele and learning more about open hearth cooking from her. (I am also looking for old recipes that would be historically accurate as well.)

And there is knitting happened but I need to wait until the rains go away to photograph it. (And no, the eye candy had nothing to do with my deciding to finally making the leap. Although it didn’t hurt.)

2 Comments

Filed under eye candy, photography

2 responses to “Re-Enactments

  1. Thats great.
    Congrats!!
    I cant wait to hear more about your adventures at the museum!!

  2. What a wonderful opportunity!!