Bad Blogger

I have been a bad blogger. I didn’t blog at all last week. I mean I didn’t even post a photo! But I have actually been knitting which was proved by the fact that I gave away two hats and a pair of fingerless mitts to some of the reenactors that I know this past weekend. And of course, I forgot to take photos of the knitted items before giving them away. I also have realized that I have not spun in almost two week either. I keep getting dirty looks from the three spinning currently sitting in my living room.

Musket Loading

And yes, there are three spinning wheels in my living room. I have one on loan thanks to the wonderful Lauren. Lendrums are actually lovely and I have fallen under the spell of the Cult of Lendrum now. I also have a Louet S15 sitting in my living room which I just purchased from another friend. And of course, my Matchless is in the center of the line up.

Fort Frederick

Fort Frederick

So what have I been doing? I have been spending time working on finishing up some quilts and learning about open hearth cooking. I spent this past week working as a docent at Schifferstadt in the kitchen both days. I was dressed in modern clothing but we were able to show that women’s work really hasn’t changed that much. And the fun part was that both days, we had the interns aka das kinder working in the kitchen. Water had to be fetched from the “well” (the hose outside), dishes washed, and the fire tended too. And we also made them help with the cooking too since after the museum closes we all get to eat. So they were told that if they wanted to eat dinner they had to help. Funny how mentioning to teenage boys the magic word of food means they are willing to help out in the kitchen works. One of the boys was actually able to complete a merit badge for Scouts by making dessert on Saturday. There are plenty of photos from this past weekend but I haven’t even downloaded them yet.

Fort Frederick

Fort Frederick

I have also starting making trips up to Fort Frederick to get familiar with it and the history of the Fort.

4 Comments

Filed under Misc

4 responses to “Bad Blogger

  1. You’ve been busy! I’m always impressed by how dedicated you are to learning new things. Thanks for sharing photos of your new hobby.

  2. Boys + the promise of food = work
    🙂

  3. open hearth cooking sounds cool.
    i cant wait to see more pictures of what you’ve been up to!

  4. Gingy

    I really will come out and bring the family. We love that kind of thing. If I had the time, I’d do the same sort of thing.